Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-09-2014, 05:31 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I really dislike the snare sounds that come stock with it though. Over processed and not my thing, tonally.

Yep I agree
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-03-2014, 07:28 AM
hjorte's Avatar
hjorte hjorte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 330
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

I'm no expert on Trigger2 so excuse me if I'm wrong, but... I think there is one major thing that separates these two plug-ins and very few seem to ever mention it.
DRT can analyze a complete audio track and create midi for it in seconds, to be handed to a drum instrument. It's an Audiosuite and does not have to play through the whole clip / song to "pick up" midi.

Can Trigger2 do that? In my view, it's two completely different plug-ins.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-03-2014, 07:39 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

Yep trigger 2 real-time capture only
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-03-2014, 07:47 AM
hjorte's Avatar
hjorte hjorte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 330
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

Then a combo of DRT + a drum instrument beats the hell outta Trigger
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2014, 10:37 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

I use DRT, after going in and fine tuning every transient point, to analyze a snare or kik track. After getting the transient markers I print audio ticks with DRT. I then trigger Trigger with the audio ticks. This ensures sample accurate drum enhancement. I never use the midi function as midi is far from accurate enough for sample accurate drum blending. I use mostly my own samples that I have made from many many drum sessions. I have seperate rooms that I trigger using a seperate instance of Trigger on it's own track that is triggered with the same audio ticks as the close sample. All of this is done with multiple velocity layers of each multi sample.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-24-2014, 04:17 AM
hjorte's Avatar
hjorte hjorte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 330
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
I have seperate rooms that I trigger using a seperate instance of Trigger on it's own track that is triggered with the same audio ticks as the close sample. All of this is done with multiple velocity layers of each multi sample.
"Multiple velocity"..... please elaborate on that, if you have a moment. So if your snare is made up of 4 tracks (close, OH, room1, room2), each of those tracks are triggered with a different velocity?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-24-2014, 08:12 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

I mean that for each drum sample, snare, kik, or tom, the sample has seperate velocity zones and each one has about 5 samples in it so that when a fill is played the same sample is not triggered over and over again. The 5 samples are played in random rotation at whatever velocity they are being triggered at. In addition, there are about 10 different velocity zones, ranging from hardest hits to ghost notes, that each have 5 samples in them in order to achieve the same realism that is achieved by the random rotation of sample playback. In other words, seperate velocity zones with multiple samples in each zone is what is required to achieve realistic drum replacement of, or blending with, the original drum sounds.

Each individual snare, kik and or tom is replaced or blended with it's own individual Trigger track. Each one of those has it's own seperate room sample in yet another instance of Trigger. This way you can procces each sound as you choose. The original drum sounds stay on their own original tracks to process as you choose as well. The instances of Trigger are triggered from duplicate tracks of each drum that have been turned into audio clicks by DRT which retain all of the original velocity information of the original drum. These audio clicks are sent to each instance of Trigger via aux sends which are in pre fader mode so that the track faders can be at zero in order to be able to not hear the clicks. If you simply insert Trigger on a drum track chances are that not all of the resulting transient points will be totally accurate no matter how much you tweek the parameters of Trigger. If you totally replace the original drum you most likely won't hear this but if you blend it with the original drum you will hear the occasional flam between the original sound and the sample. If you want truly accurate sample placement you will have to employ the above method. There is no way to achieve this level of accuracy by simply slapping an instance of any drum replacement software on a track. None of them are sophisticated enough to achieve totally sample accurate transient detection.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-24-2014, 08:19 AM
hjorte's Avatar
hjorte hjorte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 330
Default Re: Massey DRT vs slate trigger

Thanks, I got it now.

I don't use Trigger. I use Massey DRT to create midi tracks from each of the analog recorded drum tracks. The created midi is then fed to a drum virtual instrument, which is configured as multi-out (to aux tracks), so this new 'midi kit' can be mixed live Pro Tools. The original analog drums are mixed and blended in later, mostly the overheads and room mics.

Last edited by hjorte; 09-24-2014 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slate Trigger 2 (AAX 64 / 32 & RTAS) crizdee AAX Plug-ins 12 10-15-2013 01:53 PM
Slate Trigger questions bonzerboy The Drum Room 1 12-11-2012 03:32 PM
FYI - Slate Trigger EX jmitchell1532 Pro Tools 10 0 12-10-2012 08:55 AM
for all Slate Trigger users... elicious General Discussion 1 08-15-2012 04:57 PM
Slate Trigger Outputs Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 11-27-2011 11:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com