Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2020, 02:23 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Command 8 meter LED's

I got a used command 8 for cheap last year, and I'm slowly getting to know it. Looking more and more like it's going to be a very nice way for me to start to enjoy PT again. I have some challenges with movement and vision, so getting away from the mouse/screen is a big help. (Also helps me mix with my ears, and not my eyes.)

One thing I find lacking, though, is the LED meters on it seem to have a very high "trigger level". The meters in the PT mixer window has to reach yellow and red for the LEDs on C8 to light any more than the first green LED.

I would love to have them be more "sensitive" so I can have better visual feedback on the C8. The way it is now, I have to push faders to have that visual feedback and then PT mixer window peak indicators go wild.

I've tried most meter options in preferences, and searched, but nothing. I was hoping for a way to manually set this.

Anyone?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2020, 04:23 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Command 8 meter LED's

OK, scratch that.
A simple check with a signal generator shows me that the LEDs are perfectly accurate.
It's just that the first green led is -42db, and the next is -12. Then -6, -3(yellow), 0(red).

I would have loved it if there was a way to make them light up more, though.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2020, 02:44 AM
PhiBee's Avatar
PhiBee PhiBee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Strasbourg - FRANCE
Posts: 142
Default Re: Command 8 meter LED's

You have to choose the right metering view under preferences.
C8 prefers «*Pro tools Classic*» metering. Other view doesn’t fit well.


WIP house Prod
__________________
WIP house Prod - home studio
iMAC 4K i7 - 10.14.6 - Pro Tools 2020.9.1 - Audient iD22 - Behringer ADA8200 - Digidesign C|8 / Presonus Faderport. NI KK A61. LNA Video Slave 4.
STUDIO PRO Post-prod
MAC Pro "Trash can" - 10.14.6 - Pro Tools HDX + Ultimate 2019.12 /Avid C|24/S3/ProTools|Dock. Blackmagic.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:24 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Command 8 meter LED's

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhiBee View Post
You have to choose the right metering view under preferences.
C8 prefers «*Pro tools Classic*» metering. Other view doesn’t fit well.


WIP house Prod
It doesnt make any difference.


The problem is, in a typical session, I have lots of tracks where the peak is between -42 and -12, so only the first green LED lights up on every track. That takes away the intuitive identification that you have on most mixers, that you immediately can see which track corresponds to which sound you hear.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 09-15-2020 at 09:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command Meter Level Samanthas Dream ICON & C|24 6 05-07-2018 11:55 AM
PT 10.1.2 D-Command meter issue Audio_Vision ICON & C|24 1 04-26-2012 10:50 AM
Command 8 Meter adjustment?? djryno ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 04-02-2010 08:59 AM
Can D-Command show Gain Reduction on the Meter Bridge? macaholic ICON & C|24 3 02-13-2008 12:28 PM
How do I reset the meter on Command|8? mrllnfn ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 03-17-2007 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com