Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-30-2010, 05:44 PM

Default String Quartet recommendation (cello, violins, viola)

Hey guys,
So I'm using Protools LE 8.03 on a Mac. Although I've been recording for a while, I am fairly new to the virtual instrument aspect.

I was just wondering if you guys had a recommendation for patches or software for instruments in a string quartet (cello, violin, and maybe even viola). I've done a lot of research but I can come across is expensive bundle software with like 500 different instruments.

I am looking for that percussive bow sound. Much like in Coldplay's Viva la Vida or Rainy Days. I already have a good sound for good softer strings, but I am looking for something with a little more punch, especially in the cello. Is there anything out there free or fairly inexpensive that fits this?

Here is an example of the sound I'm looking for. About 1:08 seconds into the song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpbSQFJ4EEc

I am currently looking at Miroslav Philharmonik (Classik edition or Full) and East West Quantum Leap Silver Edition.

Anyway you can help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you =)

Jon
Old 06-30-2010, 06:24 PM

Default Re: String Quartet recommendation (cello, violins, viola)

LA Scoring Strings. Not cheap. Worth every penny. Not bogged down with 500 instruments, only the more useful articulations.

Years ago I stopped using EW after I bought Vienna. It's amazing. And now I've been leaning heavily towards LASS after buying it, even over Vienna, something I hadn't expected to do. I believe these are the top two currently available.
Old 06-30-2010, 06:34 PM