Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2010, 08:11 AM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Default upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

I am having a P7R4 chassis with HD4. The original PCI card slot on the old PPC G5 is PCIX. I am going to upgrade my computer to the latest mac (that means Intel Mac with PCIE). will I be able to upgrade just the card to be inserted into the new mac's PCIe slot? I dont want to spend money on changing the whole chassis. Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2010, 09:32 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

you have to upgrade the chassis, too, sorry.

the only chassis that works with PCI-X Cards to a PCIe Mac Pro is the Magma PE6R4.

No other chassis will do what you need to do.

I am in the same boat as you are, that´s why I know.

here are some links:


http://www.magma.com/comersus_viewIt...?idProduct=183


http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...00&itemid=5031


the second link does not work any more because of the new AVID website; but I posted it because maybe somebody know how to find that site on the new avid website....

sorry for the bad news; but just out of curiousity: why do you want a Mac Pro? I am totally happy with my setup, no problems, stable as a rock, and it does everything I need....

Cheers!
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2010, 10:16 AM
modulo2008 modulo2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 110
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by soloan View Post
I am having a P7R4 chassis with HD4. The original PCI card slot on the old PPC G5 is PCIX. I am going to upgrade my computer to the latest mac (that means Intel Mac with PCIE). will I be able to upgrade just the card to be inserted into the new mac's PCIe slot? I dont want to spend money on changing the whole chassis. Please help.
You can upgrade PE6R4 only exchange cards PE6NE. (USD 1449)

http://www.magma.com/comersus_viewIt...?idProduct=133

Of course,You must exchange & install myself.
But it's easily process. (I changed same situation.)

Good Luck
__________________
Mac Pro "Westmere" 12-core 2.6G (mid 2012 / 128G Ram) / OS 10.14.6
Pro Tools HDX2 (v2019.6) & UAD-2 Octo + Quad (v9.10.2)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2010, 11:28 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

yes the PE6NE board set will replace essentially all the guts in the chassis, besides power supply. its about 1400 and easy enough to install if you are used to putting cards in and out of computers. it works a champ, I did that myself when I moved to a mac pro
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2010, 12:09 PM
AREED AREED is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 144
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Is the Magma 4 slot supported? Anyone using it?
I have a HD2accell (PCI) Want to go Mac Pro and dont think I will ever need 6 slots.
How much does Avid charge to update cards for HD2?
Not sure what to do.
__________________
10.14.6
PT20, HDN, 2x192 i/o
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2010, 01:46 PM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Talking Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Thanks everybody. I think i gotta buy that PE6NE to save $600. btw, the P7R4 chassis only accommodates PCIx cards, right? (it was not configured by me and I have no chance to open it to take a look inside)

Modulo and diamond, do i need to purchase the 400W power supply and the backpanel as well?

Andi, the current computer is a Early 2005 Dual 2.7 G5 with 8G ram. The studio is expecting more film scoring productions in the coming months. And the composers are using a lot of softsynths, so the computer is always overloading. We plans to install OS 10.5.8 with PT 8.0.1 and DP 7.01 for the DAE mode. Hopefully it works fine. I have to install and update all the softsynths and plugins to the new Intel! It gonna be the biggest thing i've ever done in my life!!!!!

Thanks again!!!

Cheers,

Soloan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2010, 02:07 PM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Btw, my chassis is branded as Digidesign rather than Magma. Can the PE6NE modification kit still be able to accommodate inside this chassis?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2010, 07:11 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Smile Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Intriguing, I did not know one can Upgrade the mainboard only!

Thanks for that Info!

Does it work in a digi labeled chassis too?
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2010, 07:16 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by soloan View Post
Andi, the current computer is a Early 2005 Dual 2.7 G5 with 8G ram. The studio is expecting more film scoring productions in the coming months. And the composers are using a lot of softsynths, so the computer is always overloading. We plans to install OS 10.5.8 with PT 8.0.1 and DP 7.01 for the DAE mode. Hopefully it works fine. I have to install and update all the softsynths and plugins to the new Intel! It gonna be the biggest thing i've ever done in my life!!!!!

Thanks again!!!

Cheers,

Soloan
ah, I see!

I have the same computer, so I was curious. Let me know how it goes!
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2010, 04:21 AM
modulo2008 modulo2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 110
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by soloan View Post
Modulo and diamond, do i need to purchase the 400W power supply and the backpanel as well?

Soloan
Please read this thread (own thread)

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=271524

I continued to trying experience.
__________________
Mac Pro "Westmere" 12-core 2.6G (mid 2012 / 128G Ram) / OS 10.14.6
Pro Tools HDX2 (v2019.6) & UAD-2 Octo + Quad (v9.10.2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Chassis to PCIx Chassis for TDM Laptop Rig Logichead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-09-2013 01:42 PM
P7R4 Magma Chassis still supported in 8.0.3? insanesounds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 16 02-03-2011 12:59 PM
Your thoughts for upgrading from PCIx to PCIe now we have PT9 ampnerd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-07-2011 01:32 PM
Anyone using a P7R4 Expansion chassis ? DigitalMetal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 05-18-2009 05:37 AM
PCIx to PCIe K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-18-2008 06:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com