Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2010, 03:34 PM
bendybones bendybones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Default Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Hi All,

I'm looking for a controller for PT LE, Logic, and Ableton.

Any opinions on the Command8 / MC Mix?

..How well does Command8 integrate with Logic/Ableton?

..Does Command8 have any advantage over MC Mix for use with PT LE?

thanks,
B
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2010, 04:10 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Bendy,

I am a PTHD user but have also been digging more into LOGIC, DP, and especially FINAL CUT. I had a CONTROL24 and was at this crossroads myself in needing another control surface system. The reality is that there really isn't much out there to consider if you're not a PT user. Unfortunately Mackie has not been able to deliver their Mackie Control for some time and the only other player was Euphonix with the ARTIST SERIES. I was debating about going this direction but when I learned that AVID was buying EUPHONIX, it only made sense to me to go this route. I decided to buy (1) MC CONTROL V2, (3) MC MIX, and an MC TRANSPORT. Although right now it's HUI, you're going to see better integration of the EUCON support into PT, after all why would Avid have bought them? ;-) I absolutely LOVE this setup, don't regret it for a second, and strongly advise my own clients to go this way.

The Command8 is a cool product, but it is very limited in that you can NOT expand it. The Euphonix stuff is good, very good---works wonderful with those other programs and great with ProTools either LE or HD. And it will only get better! I've not used it with LIVE but I have used with LOGIC and it's wonderful there! I am doing A LOT of video work these days, I don't know how I ever got along without the MC CONTROL V2 using Final Cut.

The only advantage that the Command8 has over the Euphonix is plugin control but again, that is GOING TO CHANGE!
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:55 AM
bendybones bendybones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Thanks Brad.
That's some great info!

It does make sense that Avid would develop their new product (Euphonix) to surpass their older products like Command8.
So it makes sense that plug-in control will probably improve for Euphonix.

I was unaware that the Command8 cannot be expanded.
In the absence of any other big advantage over the Euphonix I would have to rule out the Command8 in favor of expandability.

By the way,
how is the plug-in control with the MC Mix?
Is it generally bad, or just not as good with PT as the Command8?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2010, 05:12 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Well it's HUI basically, which gives you limited level of control. It doesn't layout well or shall I say "in a way that always makes sense" and it only shows so much. Again, I expect this to happen by the end of the year.....basically where EUCON is built directly into ProTools and NOT using HUI. EUCON stands for Euphonix Control, programs like Logic already have it will implemented. It also knows what program you're controlling so if you tab between applications or bootup them separately, it knows. Another aspect if you were on the PC side of things (since I didn't ask) is that this line from Euphonix did NOT support Windows because of an agreement they had with Apple. However since they are owned by AVID, Windows support is not far away. SO if you're a Windows user this will work "soon".
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2010, 03:45 PM
bendybones bendybones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Looking into the MC Control as an option also...

Has version2 fixed the screen flicker issue?

Also are the faders on the v2 still out of alignment with those on the MC Mix? If so, is that confusing in practice?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2010, 05:40 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Well the V2 of the MC Control has a new LED screen which is much brighter and evenly distributed lighting. The previous model had a few darkspots and yes, some screen issues. I believe that is really what you're referring to? As to the faders, I believe there is a way to adjust those as only (4) faders---I'm positive actually, I've not had that issue.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:51 AM
japspecvr6 japspecvr6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 112
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

They need to get Eucon Going really fast.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2010, 10:20 AM
Olukunle Olukunle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lagos Nigeria
Posts: 15
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Thank you for the review on the MC Mix and Transport, I came to the forum to search for info before purchasing.

Just a little correction of the terms according to the new PT 9 user guide, EUCON stands for Extended User Control, just thought i'd chip this in.

Thanks again for this review.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2010, 09:16 AM
ritelec ritelec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 50
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

Command 8 user here. Great with PT. Sits idol when in Logic. Would be nice if someone was able to get the Command to work with other apps. I guess these people think we're made of money. Should be a matter of 1's and 0's right.

Common Avid or Digi or Euphonix or MC or Eucon or whatever your calling yourself. Help out the thousands of Command 8 owners please. And please do that fix on the leopard platform PT 8 also, and not just the snow leopard with PT v9 or the up and coming Tiger.....please.


thank you
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2010, 10:10 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Command8 -vs- MC Mix?

[QUOTE=BradLyons;

The only advantage that the Command8 has over the Euphonix is plugin control but again, that is GOING TO CHANGE! [/QUOTE]

Ok, so now that we've got PT9, how well does the MC series control plugins?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use 003 together with Command8? nstu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-08-2011 02:09 PM
Command8 and TDM os9 stizz0 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 06-28-2007 05:47 AM
Command8 - USB 1427 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 03-26-2006 01:27 AM
Using AD´s & DA´s from command8 with 001? ikke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-22-2005 08:05 AM
Command8 v. 002 robsoule ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 11-08-2004 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com