Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-05-2011, 05:08 PM
browniespeaks browniespeaks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 778
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

midi is working fine for me in 10. nanokey - axiompro61 are all good.
__________________
Clifford Brown III
Brown Audio Solutions & Services
www.brownaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-05-2011, 06:36 PM
Andy R Andy R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 333
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidesigner View Post
actually they did release it without testing it thats for sure. There are so many things not working that its not possible they tested it. Try compacting.

I can send you a link of a session where regions, oh I'm sorry, clps just wont play...

For me the agony is endless, just tried a session where I had to elastic all the tracks and the issues with the session were huge. I edited midi just couple of days ago... Errors in metering, instability..

Every second time I try to open a sessoin it will crash with "error translating tracks" or somehing like that. I've done so many sessions now in pt10 that its a pain to go back to 9 but I just might do that as the restarts take half of the day.
Well, I'm sure they tested it... I mean, c'mon. And a fair amount of folks have reported pretty smoothing sailing - but I feel your pain, that truly sucks. I've had a similar, but milder, experience to yours, many years back, where I found bugs immediately in a new PT release, which really surprised me. Like you, I couldn't believe the software could have been tested thoroughly without uncovering the bug(s) prior to release.

That said, I've been using two boot drives with new PT releases for quite some time, especially when I'm really busy. If PT crashes more than once, or twice in a day... I'm going back to the other boot drive, I don't care how glorious the new features are.

But anyways, what you're describing sounds brutal... sorry to hear it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-05-2011, 09:51 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

Do you need a driver for your midi keyboard? If so you might need to re install it.

If you are talking about the little application Midi Keys, then I'm not sure what to say because I could not ever get it to work for me in PT9.

For me PT10 is working great. a couple crashes here and there.

I did have to do some due diligence on my plug ins to weed out some problematic ones. Still some work to go, hence the few crashes I have had. But many folks have stable systems, it takes some work though.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-06-2011, 01:24 AM
Per Per is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Rosvik/Sweden
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

open the plugin in a other track, and drag it over to the instrumentrack, thats worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-06-2011, 04:16 AM
smoothbassman smoothbassman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: York, PA
Posts: 74
Default

I found after a crash once that all of the instrument tracks had their midi outputs changed to "none" so I had to go back in and change them back to their respective plug ins and I was back in business. Took me 20 minutes to figure it out.

I was experiencing a similar problem. No Midi was being received at all from either of my keyboards into protools. (Korg Triton 76 and Axiom Pro 61)

I haven't had many bugs with PT10 yet. It's been working very well.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-06-2011, 06:09 AM
jorg jorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothbassman View Post
I found after a crash once that all of the instrument tracks had their midi outputs changed to "none" so I had to go back in and change them back to their respective plug ins and I was back in business. Took me 20 minutes to figure it out.
This happens a lot to me even without crash. Now that I know what it is it's a quick fix but took me forever the first time
__________________
Mac Pro Nehalem 8 core 8 GB Ram
OS: 10.6.8
Pro Tools 10.0.1
RME Multiface II with Focusrite Octopre mkII
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-08-2011, 05:07 PM
vicshere vicshere is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothbassman View Post
I found after a crash once that all of the instrument tracks had their midi outputs changed to "none" so I had to go back in and change them back to their respective plug ins and I was back in business. Took me 20 minutes to figure it out.

I was experiencing a similar problem. No Midi was being received at all from either of my keyboards into protools. (Korg Triton 76 and Axiom Pro 61)

I haven't had many bugs with PT10 yet. It's been working very well.
I must admit I shared Fandusss' pain when it just happened here - you just get mad and want it to work and blame anyone you can think of!
But thank you, Smoothbassman and Jorg, Midi Thru fixed it. God Bless the people who are good enough to come on to these places and help others. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-26-2012, 02:14 PM
Steviefin Steviefin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

I have been having Problems with MIDI as well in PT10. I am able to Connect My oxygen 49 just fine and I am able to hear what is being played but something weird happens. When I let off of any key on the keyboard it plays a monotone beep that is the same pitch with every key. Anyone Might know why its doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-26-2012, 06:45 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steviefin View Post
I have been having Problems with MIDI as well in PT10. I am able to Connect My oxygen 49 just fine and I am able to hear what is being played but something weird happens. When I let off of any key on the keyboard it plays a monotone beep that is the same pitch with every key. Anyone Might know why its doing this?
System details? Oxygen driver version? USB Hub?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:05 PM
Steviefin Steviefin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools 10 midi major issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
System details? Oxygen driver version? USB Hub?
Mac os 10.7.2, just used the drivers that came with the MIDI keyboard, and I am plugging it straight into my macbook I do not own an interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync issue, pro tools MIDI and MIDI controller, timing issue Angelo of Onello 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-29-2011 08:57 AM
Major PT 7.4.2 and OSX 10.5.5 Issue zimbu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-26-2008 04:45 PM
Major Issue I need some help Travis_S 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-05-2007 09:22 PM
Major issue with erratic midi playback in 7.3 gprs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-29-2007 11:24 AM
DIGI - Please chk this MAJOR MIDI issue! Idahopotatis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-26-2004 06:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com