Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:49 AM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Spectrasonics Plugins like Omnisphere are. They run in 64 Bit mode in Logic. G
How many time do I have to say this? It's only RTAS that matters for Pro Tools, because Pro Tools can't use AU or VST.

I'm not making this up. Really. There are no 64bit RTAS plugs, and there won't be until Pro Tools is 64bit. For 3rd party developers, this means that there is a real possibility that there won't be any until Pro Tools 64bit is actually released.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:49 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 825
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarylG View Post
Wrong. There are no RTAS 64bit plugs available. It is no good haveing VST or AU, because Pro Tools can't use them.

D
Which is interesting. If AVID decided to support AU or VST, it would end a world of hurt, as many/most plugin devs have current support for the 'other' plugin formats.
Never more than now, would this make sense. TDM however, is another kettle of fish.

All being said, I'll put money on 9.0.5 being a mere Lion compatibility update.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:57 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrixx View Post
Which is interesting. If AVID decided to support AU or VST, it would end a world of hurt, as many/most plugin devs have current support for the 'other' plugin formats.
Never more than now, would this make sense.
Never gonna happen.

AU = Apple

VST = Steinberg

RTAS = Avid

Plain and simple.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:58 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 825
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Mmmm, we'll see!
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:59 AM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrixx View Post
Which is interesting. If AVID decided to support AU or VST, it would end a world of hurt, as many/most plugin devs have current support for the 'other' plugin formats.
Never more than now, would this make sense. TDM however, is another kettle of fish.
I agree that VST and AU support would be fantastic, not least because the performance with virtual instruments is up to 100% better with VST rather than RTAS. However, I really doubt that this will happen. I would imagine that Avid would want to be in control of everything to do with Pro Tools, like Apple does with AU. Mind you, I never thought that Pro Tools would be opened up to 3rd party hardware, so who knows what might happen.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 07-27-2011, 02:01 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

The day Pro Tools supports AU or VST directly, I will post a video of myself on Youtube dancing in my underwear with an over-sized sombrero.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 07-27-2011, 02:04 AM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
The day Pro Tools supports AU or VST directly, I will post a video of myself on Youtube dancing in my underwear with an over-sized sombrero.
I'm going to save up to purchase Avid just to see that.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 07-27-2011, 03:13 AM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

64bit won't come before a v10 release.
That's my bet.....
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 07-27-2011, 05:03 AM
jorg jorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London
Posts: 91
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoRugMan View Post
64bit won't come before a v10 release.
That's my bet.....
That's my guess too.
__________________
Mac Pro Nehalem 8 core 8 GB Ram
OS: 10.6.8
Pro Tools 10.0.1
RME Multiface II with Focusrite Octopre mkII
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 07-27-2011, 05:28 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 806
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 On The Way ! ;)

I wonder how one get's on Avid's beta program. digibeta@digidesign.com seems to be a black hole...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com