Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 11-13-2001, 11:24 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

I just played around on the hui, and of course, it doesn't trim-scrub either, BUT, a similar functionality can be had the following way:
-set pref "insertion follows scrub/shuttle"
-scrub as desired, to desired trim point
-hit stop
-in commands-focus mode, hit either the "A" or the "S" key to trim before or after the cursor. I know this is an extra keystroke, but it doesn't hurt that much.

I don't mean to take away from your gripe. If I were among the PC users, I'd be way pissed and considering a lawsuit for false advertising after all this time. I only offer a workaround (that you all probably thought of two years ago anyway)

peace

tp
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 11-15-2001, 05:34 AM
Greg Malcangi Greg Malcangi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Hi Tomcat,

Admittedly there are a few gripes with the ProControl but there again that's not unusual for almost any console. I've had gripes about SSLs in the past!

Generally IMHO, ProControl is a great bit of kit and I've been very pleased with it.

Using a Hui or other MIDI controller does have limitations. For example a MIDI controller will divide the full range of a fader's movement into 128 steps whereas the ProControl will maintain the full 10bit fader resolution of PT, ie. 1024 steps. A similar thing happens with pan.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 11-18-2001, 03:40 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

well .... OK ..... here it goes .... guess I'm in that kind of mood today so ..... I swallow my pride and bite my tongue .... but still ....

Dear Digi,

Bob, Stan, all you guys working very hard to make this the best product available ....

I apologise for all the not so polite things I have said in the past ..... and I promiss I will try to behave in the future ....

Now can we have it please .....
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 11-26-2001, 08:08 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,547
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

BUMP
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 11-28-2001, 12:40 AM
watsolo watsolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Edison, NJ USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Anyone have any experience with the high speed HUI retrofit by 3rd planet?
www.3rd-planet.de

They bypass the midi connection and you can chain several HUI's together.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 12-04-2001, 12:11 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,547
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Is this thread still here?
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 12-08-2001, 05:15 AM
GVDB GVDB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 72
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

I agree with almost anything said here, both on the customer side as on the Digi side. On the customer side it's a pain that some functions which work in other DAW don't work that way in Pt and on the DIgi side, offcourse it's hard to implement and to bug-fix all those features and if they say they do, it'll probably happen. When, hmm, maybe next year, that's up to them. For instance if porting PT to OS X will make sure that PT runs smoother I'd rather have them implement that first. Also I would rather have Digi slim down on features, I'd rather have them make the features that are in PT work smoother and faster.

To Stan: I'm very used to scrubbing audio on an Augan recorder and the Pt scrub isn't nearly as smooth, and as you said Pt scrubbing is only on 2 tracks while on the Augan it can do 24 tracks. I don't really mind working with limitations but it's quite a pain if you're sort of downgrading to another system, because to be honest editing on PT still isn't as smooth as on Fairlight or Augan (I haven't used Audiofile, but other users have said it to be very nice at editing). We don't have an EditPack and having looked at its feature set I doubt if it would make editting much faster. I mean the single-stroke editting commands on the regular keyboard are already a great and fast feature. But how to setup a system that's ergonomic when using a Pro Control and a keyboard and still remain in the optimal listening position? I've seen lots of pictures with keyboards underneath the PC (and that's sort of were ours is) but to me that's not really comfortable and even that would not be solved by an EditPack. I kinda liked the idea of making an overlay for the routing matrix and give those knobs single editting commands so you could basically put the computer keyboard aside. And to go even further i'd also like the scrub wheel to be able to navigate through the session. Why use a *@#^& mouse/trackball, I don't want RSI ! Having worked on other systems and also working for some time on a Pt system it isn't really faster. And to 2nd Jules, of course trim-editing with the scrub wheel is a part of this.

to come back to the scrubbing issue and the PC. It does bother that every other function is disabled when in scrub, for example when recording a vocal and the director wants to communicate with the singer/actor, first when he presses the talkback switch the speaker gets dimmed (why can't I just put this off?), in the meantime I'd like to que the machine for the next take, which might be at a different spot, because the director likes to keep a part of the just recorded lines. When I go in scrub mode the speaker gets muted (logical of course) but I can't clearly hear were to scrub/put the cursor as the director is still pressing the talkback switch. On the system I'm used to work i'd find the spot to punch globally and when either the director or the actor shut up (for instance to write something down) I can que the machine very fast and be ready for the next take. The machine that does this, when in scrub mode, still allows communication with the actor when I stop rocking the scrub wheel, very nice, right?

Thank you for your time.
__________________
Geert van den Berg
www.wpp.nl
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 12-09-2001, 07:16 AM
dave-G dave-G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 407
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by watsolo:
Anyone have any experience with the high speed HUI retrofit by 3rd planet?
www.3rd-planet.de

They bypass the midi connection and you can chain several HUI's together.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Seems like a klugey way to make a console, but it certainly should scream "demand!!" in digi's ear for something bigger and/or more comprehensive.

Can you even get these things in the US? A single hot-rodded HUI might be a good thing for a smaller room.

-dg
__________________
DAVE GREENBERG
SONOPOD MASTERING
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 12-10-2001, 11:51 PM
DRRPost DRRPost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Over the past year I have been thinking of getting a control surface for PT, and the pro control seemed to be the logical choice offering more edit functions than the control/24(i wouldn't even use the preamps any way). But I can't believe that you can't trim scrub on this thing! I was also under the impression that you could navigate the entire edit window with the jog wheel. I have used on occasion the Audiofile at a studio I interned at. The reelrock is a great function but for over all speed and ease of use and edit functions Pro Tools smokes it.
A trim scrub on the PC would only seem logical. I mean can you scrub and then once you find your spot switch to trim? Or does it not scrub at all? I guess I'll be using a mouse and keyboard until they get this one figured out. Thank God for this forum or I probably wouldn't have figured this out until after I bought it. $11,000 to use my $60 keyboard for every thing besides fader automation and TDM (and how much TDM?)
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 12-11-2001, 01:29 PM
GVDB GVDB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 72
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

DRRpost, offcourse the ProControl does have a scrub function that works! the only gripe is that it doesn't feature the trim/scrub function as you can do with your mouse. A workaround is, using the scrub wheel in scrub mode (which is a button on the ProC.) untill you find the edit point and then, first deselct scrub mode and then press either trim head/tail with one of the singlestroke keys (A or S).
__________________
Geert van den Berg
www.wpp.nl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Control Scrub Wheel in 7.2 iamnerdyrocker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-08-2006 11:02 AM
Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT JaredC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-07-2004 06:01 PM
scrub wheel-NEW topic CLee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 12-26-2001 08:18 AM
Scrub Wheel - but seriously ! airon ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 15 11-13-2000 06:13 PM
Nifty scrub selector doesn't work on Pro Control scrub wheel ???:eek: Jules ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 10 01-25-2000 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com