Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2001, 09:47 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Scrub Wheel Again!

we were promised it would be usable for 'trim/scrubbing' a very long time ago, several software revisions since that promice have failed to address this.

Any hope out there?

Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2001, 11:26 AM
John McDaniel John McDaniel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

You beat me to it, Jules!!

It's time we let Stan know what the lingering issues are in ProControl land. You must consider this:

When an issue like the scrub wheel is put on the back burner and gets overlooked in a couple of software revs, the chances of it EVER being attended to go WAY WAY DOWN. Digi has their software guys bunkered away working on porting to OS X. My big beef is that some of the shortcomings of the ProControl have been solved with the hugely expesive EditPack instead of some fairly minor (IMHO) software and hardware tweaks. Think about it Digi: if someone needs a workstation with REAL EDITING PROWESS (saving the mixing for another room/stage) and wants to have a ProControl as part of that environment, can they justify the expense of an EditPack?

Remap the Keyboard Focus commands to the Channel Matrix and give us a plastic overlay. Make "Trim w/Scrub" happen with the scrub wheel. I've had the hood up, and for the life of me, I don't know why Digi thinks a trackball retrofit kit can't be put together. I've looked into small to meduim sized optical trackballs and I think I could do it myself with some help from a fabricator I know who makes custom stuff just like this all the time for the local university's research scientists.

How much would you guys pay for a nice optical trackball retrofit kit for your ProControl?

later, j mcd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2001, 03:30 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Stan, welcome to the Forum!! Now PLEASE give us our trim/scrub. It has been promised for 18 months now. The monitor section upgrade was very bad policy, but you could correct it. Also why no retrofit for a trackball per John's suggestion? If you can't do it, FIX the brutal mousepad!! I use an iBook for other Mac apps and have no problem using a mousepad, but the PC pad is worthless.
Please respond. Thanks.........
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2001, 05:55 PM
I Forgot it I Forgot it is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 19
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

I'd gladly overpay for a trackball retrofit!
Let's stay on this request!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2001, 12:44 AM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 558
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Agreed!

Totally!

There is absolutely no excuse for that useless trackpad especially considering the plethora of industrial track balls avaliable. I would even guess that the trackball in the editpack would fit there.

IT"S TIME THAT THE TRIM/SCRUB FEATURE IS IMPLIMENTED!!!.

I saw the edit pack for the first time the other week......all that money for just that?....not for me. The joysticks look and feel painfully fragile

Let's see what happens next............probably a big fat nothing.

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

[ July 30, 2001: Message edited by: PTPerson ]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2001, 06:13 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Try to stick 'on topic' here guys please, lest this become a free for all!

Namely - The scrub wheel and its lack of promised features.

Start your own 'paper clip tray conversion' crusades on your OWN thread!

Thank you,

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Jules

[ July 30, 2001: Message edited by: Jules ]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2001, 06:44 AM
agus agus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 247
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

absolutely wasted space... either fix the trackpad or replace it with something that works. [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2001, 03:16 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

Anxiously awaiting............
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2019.5
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2001, 10:20 PM
Seller Seller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miami,LA,NY
Posts: 882
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

digi fixed this problem in the birth of edit pack.....$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.....thats the way they do it aaa ha thats they do it aaa hhh....sing along Hunter......I wiish Hunter T had a PT syatem ....then he could put how we all feel in words......words that would even make Avid think... [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2001, 10:33 PM
Seller Seller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miami,LA,NY
Posts: 882
Default Re: Scrub Wheel Again!

sorry about the spelling .....that whole trackpad thing ...just ,,,,,,,,well .....makes me crazy//////////...only music people would put up with this....... so I bought Edit Pack...$70000 keyboard and track ball...if you can put up with that grinding sound .........but it adds more lights in Vegas mode so mabe I am just bitter............. [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img][/LIST]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Control Scrub Wheel in 7.2 iamnerdyrocker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-08-2006 11:02 AM
Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT JaredC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-07-2004 06:01 PM
scrub wheel-NEW topic CLee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 12-26-2001 08:18 AM
Scrub Wheel - but seriously ! airon ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 15 11-13-2000 06:13 PM
Nifty scrub selector doesn't work on Pro Control scrub wheel ???:eek: Jules ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 10 01-25-2000 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com