Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2002, 11:34 AM
athlone athlone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NY NY
Posts: 112
Default Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

I need to transfer files and apps from: PowerMac 7600 (PT3!), 1G internal HD, 4 x 4G external Glyph SCSI drives to:
new G4 933 w Superdrive, 80G internal IDE. I don't have a functioning CD burner to make data files. (I'd like to keep the old system intact after the transfer to donate it.) Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2002, 04:21 PM
dj poison dj poison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: dublin,Ireland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

It's funny you should ask as I'm right in the middle of doing exactly the same thing from a 7300 to a G4 733 , superdrive ,etc ... Anyway the way that was reccomended to me was to use an ethernet crosssover connection cable , with file sharing engaged and ethernet selected in the tcp/ip ,and just transfer everything , I have this cable but have not yet succeded , but I feel I'm close ,it's too late to get the info Ineed to finish the job tonight , but I'll post again when I've succede , hope this is some help to you .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2002, 09:26 PM
athlone athlone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NY NY
Posts: 112
Default Re: Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

DJ, If you keep having problems, someone just suggested I get a SCSI PCI card ($50), and just connect the drives directly to transfer. I don't know if that's the answer, but I thot I'd throw it out. Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2002, 07:48 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

Either method will work.

When working with Ethernet:
-Double check and make sure you are using a Crossover cable.

-Assuming AppleTalk and File Sharing is active for both systems, you should be able to "see" the other computer by opening the Chooser and highlighting the "AppleShare" device.

If using SCSI, you will have to remove the drive from the previous computer and install it in an external case before you can connect it to your SCSI card.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2002, 03:03 PM
athlone athlone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NY NY
Posts: 112
Default Re: Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

DigiSupt: There's 4 external wide SCSI drives as well as the internal. Can I just connect the external drives to the new SCSI card to transfer, and then dump the internal drive onto one of the externals and transfer that? Don't quite get what you mean by external case. . .Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2002, 06:03 PM
dj poison dj poison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: dublin,Ireland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

Guys evrything worked perfectley with the ethernet connection just set it to the dhcp server and it will set everything itself , tansferred all the files I wanted from the old and put the good new stuff back on the old as I'm selling it on to a friend , you can only go one way at atime though , but everything worked like a dream .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2002, 06:14 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Help transferring from 7600 SCSI to new 933??

Quote:
Originally posted by athlone:
Can I just connect the external drives to the new SCSI card to transfer, and then dump the internal drive onto one of the externals and transfer that?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yes.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
api 7600 ? slr Tips & Tricks 1 04-08-2002 07:30 AM
Internal SCSI bus on a 7600 Dog BBQ Tips & Tricks 2 10-27-2000 10:13 AM
PT, adaptecscsi?? 7600/G3@400 JEB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-03-2000 05:51 PM
7600 and Digi001? kova 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-19-2000 08:38 AM
7600 with 5.0 joepopp General Discussion 0 11-30-1999 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com