Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2019, 08:25 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,001
Default Odd MIDI Behavior

I encountered an issue with MIDI when recording some tracks yesterday. I was composing a couple parts for a project. I wanted to do it in sections (intro - verse etc). I recorded the MIDI for the intro. I then assigned the output of that MIDI track to a specific VI. I then set up a 2nd MIDI track to record the next section, I set the transport to begin recording at the proper measure, but had the transport begin a bit prior, as I want to hear the first part on the other VI so I could come in properly with the next part. This is where it starting acting odd. The instrument I was playing on the 2nd part was different than the VI being played by the first MIDI track. When I hit record/play to lay down the new part, the MIDI played like just the first chord of the first MIDI part, and that was it. The transport didn't stop...its just the MIDI track stopped playing anything.



BUT - when I changed the record start area to match where I set the transport to begin playing, it all worked fine. I've never had that happen before. And I have no explanation for it either.



I've done other sessions where I started playback a few measures before the selected record area, all with MIDI, and no problem. I closed and re-opened the session...no effect. I closed PT and rebooted back to the session...no effect. I rebooted my entire system...no effect. It made no sense.



Anyone have an insight as to what might be the cause of this?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2019, 09:47 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: Odd MIDI Behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I encountered an issue with MIDI when recording some tracks yesterday. I was composing a couple parts for a project. I wanted to do it in sections (intro - verse etc). I recorded the MIDI for the intro. I then assigned the output of that MIDI track to a specific VI. I then set up a 2nd MIDI track to record the next section, I set the transport to begin recording at the proper measure, but had the transport begin a bit prior, as I want to hear the first part on the other VI so I could come in properly with the next part. This is where it starting acting odd. The instrument I was playing on the 2nd part was different than the VI being played by the first MIDI track. When I hit record/play to lay down the new part, the MIDI played like just the first chord of the first MIDI part, and that was it. The transport didn't stop...its just the MIDI track stopped playing anything.



BUT - when I changed the record start area to match where I set the transport to begin playing, it all worked fine. I've never had that happen before. And I have no explanation for it either.



I've done other sessions where I started playback a few measures before the selected record area, all with MIDI, and no problem. I closed and re-opened the session...no effect. I closed PT and rebooted back to the session...no effect. I rebooted my entire system...no effect. It made no sense.



Anyone have an insight as to what might be the cause of this?
Interesting. I'll be back if I can duplicate this behavior.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2019, 09:55 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,001
Default Re: Odd MIDI Behavior

Thanks Tom


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disappointing change in MIDI behavior Philthy Pro Tools 12 12 02-18-2016 04:22 AM
Strange MIDI behavior keithl Pro Tools 11 2 10-10-2015 01:42 PM
weird behavior in MIDI editor aldersyde Pro Tools 10 1 12-18-2013 06:33 PM
Strange MIDI behavior in PT7.1 Ray Campbell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-09-2006 07:53 AM
strange midi behavior? Is it a bug? Alex Rodriguez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-23-2004 07:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com