Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-22-2015, 03:37 PM
Branko's Avatar
Branko Branko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 580
Default

I switched from D-Control 32 to S6 two weeks ago. First impressions are quite mixed - I was a long-time Icon user and I really developed several workflows that I almost depend on.
We bought the widest frame - 9ft and it is loaded with 48 faders and has a producer's desk on one side. Even at this size, S6 feels rock solid, it's frame is very rigid and there are no signs of bending even if you sit on it. Absolutely no difference between the D-Control and S6. I kinda like thinner legs more and especially the lack of horizontal reinforcing plate that looked so clumsy on Icon's frame.
Faders are more silent than Icon's P&Gs.
We do not use this desk for editing, only mixing, so I don't miss any editing features. I do miss two things: 1. custom faders, because these were always located in the same place on the desk and did not depend on track hide/show state, and 2. plug-in mapping to faders, which was a killer feature when working with Cedar DNS and some reverbs.
Getting used to colour scheme, seems a very powerful tool.
Absolutely love the clips waveform display scroll - after only two weeks, I don't look at the ProTools screen anymore.
Plug-in mapping is still unfinished (even the Channel Strip is missing some commands, like filter slope), wonder if users will ever be able to edit their own maps.
I'm also badly missing the Icon's feature to insert a plug-in or a send from the desk.
S6 is two years old now, it's development and software updates should be moving much faster.
__________________
------------------------
Branko Neskov c.a.s.
www.loudness-films.pt
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-22-2015, 08:20 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,051
Default

v2.0 next month has all the Spill (custom faders) features in and more.....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-23-2015, 12:51 AM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default

Awesome, thanks Eddie! Looking forward to it!
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-23-2015, 01:40 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
v2.0 next month has all the Spill (custom faders) features in and more.....
From what I've been hearing, the 'and more' part is a major understatement. v2 sounds like it is going to take us in a big step beyond the Icon capabilities.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: HDX PCIe Card, OMNI, AVID Thunderbolt box, D-Control 16 Blue, Control 24 drogan88 Buy & Sell 1 12-02-2014 12:59 PM
Artict Control Monitor/Control Room Knob & HD Omni DAWgEAR Artist Series 4 07-07-2014 01:56 PM
Avid Digidesign Control|24 and Sterling Modular Desk Console for Control 24-Separate relaxo Buy & Sell 3 09-05-2013 07:05 AM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com