Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2013, 07:16 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default The longer I go

It seems that the longer I go without all of my 3rd Party Plug-Ins the less I seem to miss them. except for a good Drum Plug-In I have pretty much got my work flow down again just using the PT11 supplied plug-ins. 3rd Party Plug-In companies better hurry up with those AAX2 64bit plug-ins before I don't miss you at all.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SanDisk 480GB SSD
AVID: Digidesign Digi 003 Console
Pro Tools 2018.10

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 12GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2013, 07:29 PM
Trainwrecker Trainwrecker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 124
Default Re: The longer I go

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2013, 01:45 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 495
Default Re: The longer I go

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
It seems that the longer I go without all of my 3rd Party Plug-Ins the less I seem to miss them. except for a good Drum Plug-In I have pretty much got my work flow down again just using the PT11 supplied plug-ins. 3rd Party Plug-In companies better hurry up with those AAX2 64bit plug-ins before I don't miss you at all.
+1

For me, it started in PT10 with Channel Strip. It is an amazing plugin with amazing quality and lots of possibilities that after some time replaced my use of almost all 3rd party EQ and dynamics, at least for all non-mastering parts.

Pro Tools certainly includes a lot of very usefull / high quality plugins that can do most of the things one can need. Whenever I use some 3rd party plugin, it's generally just because I already know how to use it and what I'll get fast - but probably replaceable by some included plugin. Even for virtual instruments is really good - although you are right, I cannot replace my Superior Drummer yet with anything else included.

I certainly don't use anything from Waves anymore and I'm really not missing anything.
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Latest (subscription) Pro Tools Ultimate on Windows 10 Pro x64
Mbox 3 Pro + Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
Ram 8 x 16GB each (128 GB total) Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz
Dual Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB (OS and WIP)
2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2013, 03:08 AM
Fir3bird Fir3bird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 63
Default Re: The longer I go

I do agree too... The only 3r party plugs I use are VI (EastWest Symphonic orchestra, Fabfilter Twin2) and the GRM Tools... Plus all the AAX freebies we can find out there...

Yeah, I love the Channel Strip and the Dverb (but there should be an option to avoid the chorusing effet on the tail of the reverbs...)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2013, 06:17 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 495
Default Re: The longer I go

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fir3bird View Post
I do agree too... The only 3r party plugs I use are VI (EastWest Symphonic orchestra, Fabfilter Twin2) and the GRM Tools... Plus all the AAX freebies we can find out there...

Yeah, I love the Channel Strip and the Dverb (but there should be an option to avoid the chorusing effet on the tail of the reverbs...)
Have you played arround with AIR Reverb? It's pretty good if you set parameters right.
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Latest (subscription) Pro Tools Ultimate on Windows 10 Pro x64
Mbox 3 Pro + Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
Ram 8 x 16GB each (128 GB total) Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz
Dual Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB (OS and WIP)
2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2013, 06:43 AM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 920
Default Re: The longer I go

I like AIR verb much better. I will say that Revibe II is an absolute masterpiece.


Sent from my PT beating heart
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2013, 09:21 AM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: The longer I go

So at this point I think once Toontrack and McDSP (Windows) gets on board I will be pretty much done even worrying about 3rd party plug-ins.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell Precision T1500 Minitower
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-860 (2.8GHz,8MB)
Memory: 32GB (4 X 8GB)
SanDisk 480GB SSD
AVID: Digidesign Digi 003 Console
Pro Tools 2018.10

Portable:
Model: Acer Aspire E5-575
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit SP1
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Memory: 12GB
SanDisk 256GB SSD
AVID: Fast Track C400
Pro Tools 12.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2013, 09:46 AM
boomsounddesign's Avatar
boomsounddesign boomsounddesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Curitiba, Brasil
Posts: 89
Default Re: The longer I go

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
It seems that the longer I go without all of my 3rd Party Plug-Ins the less I seem to miss them. except for a good Drum Plug-In I have pretty much got my work flow down again just using the PT11 supplied plug-ins. 3rd Party Plug-In companies better hurry up with those AAX2 64bit plug-ins before I don't miss you at all.
Mostly agree. I do miss the good old and trusty UAD SSL Channel strip and G Bus compressor, and thats just because I miss working on a G4000 board. Wish I could afford getting 16 channels of analog compressors and EQs but the UADs work great.

For post work though I can completely do without those and thus have been using 11 a lot. The only plug I can't do without has been ported already (NuGen VisLM). Only missing Waves for the noise-reduction because we all know location sound people always mess up :).
__________________
My Gear
Mac Pro (mid 2011) - 2x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Xeon, 16GB RAM, ProTools HD Native, UAD Quad.
HD IO 16x16 + Lynx Aurora 16
Solid State Logic Matrix
B&W 800 series + Yamaha HSM80s

Mojave Audio, Royer, Neumann, Audix, Yamaha, AKG and Shure mics. Focusrite ISA828, SSL Alpha VHD, UA LA610-mkii, M-Audio OctoPre, Avid Eleven Rack

Canare and Mogami cabling.

http://www.boomsounddesign.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2013, 10:00 AM
cryophonik's Avatar
cryophonik cryophonik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 47
Default Re: The longer I go

I'm content to wait a little longer before making the jump completely to PT11. PT10.3.6 is working fine, I have several 3rd party plugins that I don't want to be without, and PT11 has a bug that makes it unusable for me (crash w/Shift key). Once that bug is squashed and a few plugins go AAX2, I'll be ready to make the leap.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2013, 10:15 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: The longer I go

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomsounddesign View Post
and thats just because I miss working on a G4000 board.
What's a G4000 board? never heard of it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The longer I have my 11R the better it is strangedogs Eleven Rack 6 02-10-2013 04:29 PM
Please help! Can't wait any longer. mdubz3344 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-07-2012 07:58 PM
My 002 No Longer Has Any Personality LaJaZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-11-2003 03:11 PM
pt 6.0.2 no longer in the digistore Baked Goods Records 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-04-2003 12:05 AM
longer cable nin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-26-2000 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com