Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2007, 01:02 PM
ptstuck ptstuck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 3
Default Intermittent Automation Problems

I'm an occasional user of Pro Tools to mix simple commercials, generally with music and a voice.

However I have a repeated problem with automation - during playback from the beginning of an ad it seems to forget the automation volume written into the track and appears high.

This generally happens after I have reached the end of the ad i.e. I undertake repeated takes in touch mode on sections of the voice until it is peaking at 6 and not overpeaking.

However when I then go to play back from the beginning, its as if it hasn't been mixed properly, and is worst than when I started! This isn't the way I left it, but I haven't revisted this section of the ad since it was right.

Also, another issue (which I think could be related):

When opening a completed mix by another user this also played very high when I played it back and yet it was also mixed correctly! This happened when I simply opened the session and pressed play with automation in read mode so I am unsure what I'm doing wrong.

This repeatedly happens intermittently to me and I'm sure it's a simple thing but not sure what.

Can anyone advise?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2007, 06:13 PM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 504
Default Re: Intermittent Automation Problems

Check that Automation is not "Suspended"

Check that you have volume automation enabled to be written to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2007, 08:48 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Intermittent Automation Problems

If you are on a Pro Toos|24 MIX system using version 6.4.1, please make sure you have updated to the latest cs version -

http://archive.digidesign.com/download/cs/641cs4/mac/

Please let us know your system configuration.

Hope this helps

Danny Caccavo
Product Manager
Digidesign
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2007, 08:53 AM
ptstuck ptstuck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Intermittent Automation Problems

Hi Danny

Thanks for your reply.

I'm on Pro Tools TDM 7.3(.2 I think) on a G5 Power PC linked to a Yamaha surface controller/desk. I believe the system is up to date patches wise etc.

Laki,

I believe I have the volume automation set and haven't changed the 'Suspended' settings tho I will double check this on Monday. It'd an odd issue as it happens intermittently and our Dubbing Mixer doesn't have this problem and we are both failing to see what I am doing wrong!

Thanks everyone
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Problems in PT9 Trumpet_Time Pro Tools 9 1 09-13-2011 12:07 PM
Automation playback intermittent rhumphries Post - Surround - Video 6 06-21-2011 12:02 PM
Intermittent Pan Automation!! ARGH!!! timsound2006 Post - Surround - Video 17 12-15-2007 03:49 AM
Automation Problems Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-24-2001 01:32 PM
Automation problems ? Melodymaker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-21-1999 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com