Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2004, 08:55 AM
JaredC JaredC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 130
Default Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Is there a product that I can use as a scrub wheel or jog wheel for PT without having to buy something like the mackie control? Editing start points with a mouse is a pain.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2004, 09:17 AM
lexicon5 lexicon5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 345
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Contour ShuttlePRO v.2

Has a multitude of presets that load when you launch the app that ShuttlePRO will be controlling.
FCP, FCE, PTLE, Safari etc etc.
I own the original ShuttlePRO....won't edit without it...
Saves about an hour a session by not having to mouse everywhere, plus with user assignable buttons, make them do what you want.
__________________
It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever. -David St. Hubbins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2004, 02:50 AM
Jacobus Jacobus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 66
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Great idea!

What functions do you use it for?
Is it easy to set up?

Regards
J.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:02 AM
lexicon5 lexicon5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 345
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Install the drivers for it, plug it in and reboot...their developers have not figured out how most everyone else in the world that makes drivers for the Mac can do an install without rebooting...I don't hold it against them....

Launch the Contour Shuttle application to assign the buttons...if need be. The most used functions are already pre configured for Pro Tools. In the CS app, are a few drop boxes.... Application Settings, Device (since they have three models), User Action, Computer Response and Frequency. If it is a keystroke that you are assigning, you can tell the CS how many times to perform that function, from "Once every 4 seconds" to 2 times per second to 60 times per second to "As Fast as possible" on up to "Hold It Down", whatever you want.
It is user friendly (use defaults) and very complex (custom keystrokes) at the same time....

I use it in PTLE, FCP, FCE, QuickTime, MOTU DP, Bias Deck, Apple SoundTrack, GarageBand, iTunes, iMovie, iDVD, DVD Studio Pro....there are 38 apps that the CS is pre-configured for....all of those above are in that list.

Well worth the money...it's is a REAL time saver.
__________________
It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever. -David St. Hubbins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2004, 05:59 AM
Snyderman Snyderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 29
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Sounds very cool.
Lexicon5: I also am interested in examples of how you use it or what functions you find it helpful for. Thanks for the info.

-derek
__________________
Derek Snyder
Artistic Director
The Phoenix Ensemble
www.phoenixensemble.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2004, 08:28 AM
FatBelly FatBelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 387
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

I've posted about this in the Windows forum.

You might want to look into this also.

This computer Keyboard,will be released in about a month, with a possible PT version or Sticker set coming.

They also have a white one that's Mac only a little different and the price for this one is only $99.00.

Both options are much cheaper than the Contour Shuttle.

FatBelly Slim
__________________
FatBelly Slim

Oh no, not the sprinklers again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:11 AM
Snyderman Snyderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 29
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Thanks Fatbelly,

I saw that keyboard. Forgive my lack of knowledge but what are the uses of a Jog/scrub wheel?
Sank you.
__________________
Derek Snyder
Artistic Director
The Phoenix Ensemble
www.phoenixensemble.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2004, 11:20 AM
JohnT JohnT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Champaign-Urbana Illinois
Posts: 163
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

I have a Shuttle (original) that I've moved onto my PT station. One problem I'm having is using modifier keys (command, alt, ctrl, shift) with keys or wheel on Shuttle. For example: using the wheel (assigned to - and + for nudging) with shift and alt/command for nudging selection boundaries. It ignores the modifier keys and just nudges the whole selection left or right.

On my HUI this is a cool thing, but doesn't seem to work with Shuttle. Any ideas?..

Thanks,
JT
__________________
Mpowered PT w/ProjectMix with Black Lion mods, and Transit, Macbook Pro, Reason, Live, Axiom 25, Keystation 88, Coffee with cream, no sugar
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-2004, 11:28 AM
dans dans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boston
Posts: 440
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

Wouldn't this be a good thing to have for $35? I'm not 100% sure it would work with PTLE, but check it out.
__________________
It's not what you know that is important...it's what you can figure out.

G4 1.25DP/FW800/1.25GB/OS X 10.3.5/Digi 001/LE 6.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-05-2004, 01:26 PM
davetron5000 davetron5000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 324
Default Re: Scrub Wheel or Jog Wheel for PT

It does work with PTLE, but it has limited use. You can program click, long-click, turn left, turn right and click-left, click-right. Not a lot of options. Especially given that long-click and click-left and click-right are very difficult to pull-off.

Why does anyone scrub or jog? Isn't it easier to just click the mouse where you want to go? Scrubbing is entirely too difficult to control and in this age of no tapes, it seems archaic and kludgy....
__________________
MacBook Pro Core Duo 1.83
2 Gig RAM
OS X 10.4.8
002R/PTLE 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Control Scrub Wheel in 7.2 iamnerdyrocker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-08-2006 11:02 AM
Scrub wheel recommendations? yin7yang64 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 11-14-2002 11:31 AM
Scrub Wheel Again! Jules ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 183 11-11-2002 08:11 PM
Scrub Wheel - but seriously ! airon ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 15 11-13-2000 06:13 PM
Nifty scrub selector doesn't work on Pro Control scrub wheel ???:eek: Jules ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 10 01-25-2000 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com