Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #411  
Old 06-27-2019, 12:38 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,590
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
This is some shady stuff right here! The FAQ in the announcement sticky just posted at the top states the following:

4. WILL AVID STILL OFFER UPDATE PLAN REINSTATEMENTS?
Yes. For specific eligibility please check with your Avid Account representative or local reseller.

If you read that closely and then look at the pricing attachment they put at the bottom you can assume there will be no reinstatement for vanilla.

Why don't they just come out and say that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by seebee62 View Post
I feel they want to keep us in the dark on reinstatement.
They really want to force Vanilla users in a subscription plan.
If you don’t subscribe double the yearly fee.

We’re paying for hope. Hopefully they’ll have killing update at some point. Whether we subscribe or renew perpetual.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Hello jpsexton and seebee62,

Perhaps you missed the next QA pair under that? #5 says Reinstatement for Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate is unchanged.

Best regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old 06-27-2019, 12:44 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 264
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hello jpsexton and seebee62,

Perhaps you missed the next QA pair under that? #5 says Reinstatement for Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate is unchanged.

Best regards,
JC
Finally I can sleep well tonight.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old 06-27-2019, 12:52 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 103
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
What do you care? You’re moving to your beloved S1
I care because I've been using Pro Tools for literally decades. I like Pro Tools and I'll probably never know S1 as well as I know Pro Tools. My preference would be for Avid to focus on continuing to develop it instead of figuring out how to extort more and more money from it's customer base.

My first system was Session 8, I upgraded that one to TDM HD4, and then switched to Vanilla and an Apollo at version 11 when they moved HD over to HDX cards. I don't even want to think of how much money I've spent.

I'm switching because I'm tired of Avid, not Pro Tools...
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
UAD Apollo Twin Thunderbolt
OS - Windows 10 Pro

https://soundcloud.com/jpsexton

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old 06-27-2019, 12:53 PM
jpsexton's Avatar
jpsexton jpsexton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 103
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hello jpsexton and seebee62,

Perhaps you missed the next QA pair under that? #5 says Reinstatement for Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate is unchanged.

Best regards,
JC
Thank you for the clarification.
__________________
Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
Asus - Prime Z370-A ATX Motherboard
Asus Thund​erbolt III​ AIC
16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Patriot - Spark 256GB SSD System Drive
Patriot - Ignite 480GB SSD Work Drive
Hisense 43" 4K Display
UAD Apollo Twin Thunderbolt
OS - Windows 10 Pro

https://soundcloud.com/jpsexton

Handle every stressful situation like a dog. If you can't eat it or play with it, Just pee on it and walk away.
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old 06-27-2019, 01:29 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,717
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
Thank you for the clarification.
I’m gonna take your advice in your signature - pee on it and move on
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old 06-27-2019, 08:16 PM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 168
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightWing View Post
Here's a tidbit...Avid' Cashflow DROPPED from a high at year end 2018 from just under $21 Million to just under $7 Million end of 1st Qtr 2019. Cashflow in the TWO previous Qtrs, 2nd and 3rd 2018, were Negative...about $12 Million combined. They're also over $400 Million in Debt.

https://quotes.wsj.com/AVID/financials
Yeah... that doesn't look like a good situation for Avid at all. Not a guarantee that circling the drain is imminent, but definitely not good. That might explain why this feels like a desperate cash grab and Avids willingness to send many of their customers into a blind rage over a 100% price increase on yearly updates after delivering practically nothing for 5 months. (2019.5 was a nice feature update, I will give them that)

I lived through the dotcom days as a techie, this type of news would give me pause if I worked there. Wait, I wouldn't pause at all.... I would generate a resume tsunami from my email account...

Last edited by gnjlee; 06-27-2019 at 08:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old 06-28-2019, 09:53 AM
chipss36 chipss36 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Church Point la
Posts: 65
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

The problem with even paying $99 a year, is avid, has no incentive for updates.
They all ready have the money, does not matter anymore if an update is lame, or late.
Used to be you had a choice.
And if the the update was a good one, a stable one, and worth the upgrade price you purchased the upgrade, if not skip that one, a check and balance to lame updates.
A daw is very complex, it’s not like a plug in, and rental of a daw is just silly.
I gave avid my last $99 and did so kicking and screaming. Avid can take a hike at $199
In other news...Sure am liking studio 1, even more than logic, downloaded a demo, both have purchase prices at one year of pt updates cost. Purchasing other options this year. Very impressed with studio one,
Pro tools , Industry standard? Or just industry’s most expensive?
After a week demo on studio 1, purchased it this morning.
Pro tools 7 to 2019...RIP!

Last edited by chipss36; 06-28-2019 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old 06-28-2019, 10:48 AM
Nish Nish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 176
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

June will be a good quarter for avid with every perpetual license owner buying a couple years of support in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old 06-28-2019, 10:59 AM
chipss36 chipss36 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Church Point la
Posts: 65
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Well Nish,
You seem more interested in stocks and the corporation than
A daw, you know stuff like what does it cost, and is it stable and not
Crashing. What was the last update like?
Have fun.
I am out.
Reply With Quote
  #420  
Old 06-28-2019, 01:10 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 690
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipss36 View Post
The problem with even paying $99 a year, is avid, has no incentive for updates.
They all ready have the money, does not matter anymore if an update is lame, or late.
Used to be you had a choice.
And if the the update was a good one, a stable one, and worth the upgrade price you purchased the upgrade, if not skip that one, a check and balance to lame updates.
A daw is very complex, it’s not like a plug in, and rental of a daw is just silly.
I gave avid my last $99 and did so kicking and screaming. Avid can take a hike at $199
In other news...Sure am liking studio 1, even more than logic, downloaded a demo, both have purchase prices at one year of pt updates cost. Purchasing other options this year. Very impressed with studio one,
Pro tools , Industry standard? Or just industry’s most expensive?
After a week demo on studio 1, purchased it this morning.
Pro tools 7 to 2019...RIP!
I don’t know when you compare other say Cubase there upgrades to the next version and the rate at which they appear is very competive with Avid’s price structure, and with older version the upgrade fee increases... I actually like the way Avid is doing it fixes and features as you go.

Ultimately for a small annual fee which is what even at $199 annually is, plays a BIG part in the studio basically gluing the many more thousands of $ worth of software and hardware like mics, amps, racks, desks....etc....etc... together and considering it is the industry standard.... I say good luck if you have to transfer you session to another studio that just wants to load up the session like it’s been created on the platform they use like PT. Folks can harp on and on about how great S1 is but the fact is it’s a major step backward compared to PT. I can’t find any studio locally that actually uses S1 they use PT with some who use Cubase run PT as well.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important Update on Upcoming Creative Tools Price Adjustments | 7.1.19 Avid General Announcements 1 06-27-2019 11:47 AM
Mbox Gain Issues and Protools Issues (Bounce to Disk and Knob/Pot adjustments) Lucky Bastard Getting Started 6 01-16-2014 03:29 PM
Protools 8HD upgrade price? pablotec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 10-08-2008 12:30 PM
Protools HD to "HD II" upgrade price speculation....? N.E.R.D Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2007 05:13 PM
G4 price drop in July? Mike Brosco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 07-10-2002 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com