Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2014, 03:32 PM
AudioEngineer591 AudioEngineer591 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 25
Default ASUS Gaming Laptop

I plan on buying a ASUS gaming laptop or anything from ASUS. Are they good for Pro Tools 11 and 10? I plan to mainly do video and sound sound design for post production.
__________________

AVID Pro Tools 12.2
Windows 10 Pro
Intel i7-4800MQ @3.7GHz
GTX870M 3GB
32GB DDR3L-1600
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:47 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,592
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

Need specs!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2014, 09:51 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,541
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

Gaming laptops are usually ideal for running Pro Tools but as sw rec said above, we'll need to see the specs.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2014, 06:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,292
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Gaming laptops are usually ideal for running Pro Tools but as sw rec said above, we'll need to see the specs.

Shane
Gaming rigs tend to have one issue that makes them NOT good for audio work - they tend to be loud as hell with their fans. I've known people try and use Alienware gaming rigs for recording and rued the day. Fan noise in these things make the Omni I/O seem quiet as a church mouse.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2014, 07:05 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,592
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

From a 'build it yourself" standpoint, I've ALWAYS defaulted to ASUS motherboards. But that's only the first of many parts of the equation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2014, 10:48 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

Gaming and Pro Tools have similar requirements... Fast multicore processor, 8+ GB RAM, fast internal drives.

But for a laptop, I wouldn't get a gaming-centric model. That graphics horsepower is unnecessary (and causes fan noise, as was mentioned above). Save some money, get a model that doesn't have the latest and greatest GPU. With the money you save, you can get a fast USB3 or eSATA external hard drive for your Pro Tools projects.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2014, 10:09 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 156
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

I use an MSI GS70.

As others have said - gaming laptops are a good place to look. The GS70 has 3 internal mSATA slots and a traditional 2.5" HDD slot etc.

Fan noise can be noticeable under load but not obnoxious. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2014, 09:28 PM
Trainwrecker Trainwrecker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 124
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

I will never buy another Asus Laptop. I have an i7 laptop that they discontinued and nothing was ever released since then. They just walked away. No updated drivers etc. I am not in slow death mode. You might have better luck. I use it as a mobile. But not with PT. I do not move my iloks.

Good Luck, that is just my exp.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2014, 10:02 AM
AudioEngineer591 AudioEngineer591 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 25
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

I plan to buy the MSI GT60 Dominator-424 instead. Is this a good idea? I want my new laptop to be a gaming and audio/video production system.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/msi-gt60...at247400050000
__________________

AVID Pro Tools 12.2
Windows 10 Pro
Intel i7-4800MQ @3.7GHz
GTX870M 3GB
32GB DDR3L-1600
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2014, 10:41 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,292
Default Re: ASUS Gaming Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioEngineer591 View Post
I plan to buy the MSI GT60 Dominator-424 instead. Is this a good idea? I want my new laptop to be a gaming and audio/video production system.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/msi-gt60...at247400050000
I would NOT want to use this as a production machine. Screen is nice but the keyboard is crap and the fan is loud under heavy use. The touchpad is small. There's a reason most laptops don't have keypads in them and this makes all the other keys small. Couple this with the fact that Best Buy's Geek Squad people aren't the sharpest knives in the drawer, unless you're a computer geek and know your way around systems, you'd be better off going with a purpose built system.

Actually using any laptop unless well built and specified is a crap-shoot and most off the shelf machines will only give you headaches.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Interface for ASUS Windows 7 Laptop Darzel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-27-2011 05:26 PM
Protools 9 on Asus laptop KevinAllen Pro Tools 9 3 11-16-2010 03:28 PM
Constant 6086 error on ASUS laptop PT8 AnalogueRazor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 07-09-2009 11:42 AM
Laptop ASUS Z53SE & ProTools 7.4? PetrosGls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-07-2008 02:35 PM
Asus laptop and mbox 2 mini pekaboo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-16-2007 05:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com