Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-14-2019, 01:31 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 616
Default Re: Error -20021

I opened a case about it too.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-07-2019, 10:20 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 616
Default Re: Error -20021

I received an update on this from Avid asking me to try disabling Tailspin and Spindump.
My method of disabling and re-enabling my dialogue tracks works on some sessions and not others, so no win there sadly.
I was working in a facility last week and they are having exactly the same problems, so it must be common across a lot of rigs?
Anyone else heard anything or had a breakthrough?
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-09-2019, 04:18 AM
GCScott GCScott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default Re: Error -20021

We've always seen automation too dense errors. We jump through the usual cut automation' loops seeking out conform points which seem to be the worst for it.
Since upgrading from 2018.4 to 2019.6 however, they're accompanied by -20021 and as others have mentioned - refuse to go back into play without a bit of deactivating/reactivating or closing/opening.

They didn't have such a dramatic impact on the session until the upgrade. Are you still seeing this in 19.10?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-09-2019, 05:00 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,431
Default Re: Error -20021

Over here it started this summer (19.6 I guess). But as stated earlier I have seen this 1-2 years ago on a large Atmos mix with multiple HDX rigs running as well.
This time we're all HDnative. No HDX involved but my colleague who's currently on a huge block-buster with hundreds of tracks mixed on HDX is having the same issue. The temp fix I mentioned does avoid the relaunch but it's not a cure for the issue.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-09-2019, 05:57 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 616
Default Re: Error -20021

Quote:
Are you still seeing this in 19.10?

Yes I'm running 19.10 and its happening a lot on one particular session.
I can repair it sometimes by de activating and reactivating one dialogue track. The track has DNS One, Fabfilter Pro Q 2 and an avid EQ on it all with automation.
Does that match up with whatever you guys have as plugins?
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-09-2019, 07:16 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,431
Default Re: Error -20021

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Yes I'm running 19.10 and its happening a lot on one particular session.
I can repair it sometimes by de activating and reactivating one dialogue track. The track has DNS One, Fabfilter Pro Q 2 and an avid EQ on it all with automation.
Does that match up with whatever you guys have as plugins?
No sorry, Channel Strip, Slapper, Spanner, Phoenix Surround 2.0.9, Lowender, Softube TSAR, McDSP SA-1 and some more.

I found that sometimes ChannelStrip behaves weird. I tweak something in preview but nothing happens. Even the most extreme settings don't change a thing. This will at some point stop and the plugin suddenly works but then when writing to selection shortly after that I get the too dense and 20021 thing. But this is rather rare but I've seen it quite a few times. Usually it's the too dense and 20021 out of the blue but definitely in certain sections of the sessions and then in others no issue at all.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-09-2019, 01:32 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 616
Default Re: Error -20021

Hmmmmm...
There goes my theory then.
I have channelstrip, slapper, spanner and phoenixverb that match yours but not on this channel.
I only have one channelstrip in the whole session.

I'm installing digitrace today, so maybe we'll get a bit further?
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE - 20021 was encountered? Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 3 04-19-2018 03:27 PM
AAE Error -20021 DonaldM Pro Tools 12 5 09-07-2017 08:01 PM
Pro Tools 9 Playback Error Lead to DAE Error 743 Which Lead to A CPU Overload Error EricMulhern macOS 1 11-20-2011 06:39 PM
Error type 10,address error ,illegal error, buss error ,illegal instruction KasticK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-14-2003 12:21 PM
Buss error,Address error,ilegal instruction,error type 10 KasticK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-08-2003 06:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com