Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2005, 09:23 AM
Supernaut Supernaut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Rebooting on startup?

Hi all, this is my first post here.

I've been using protools for a few years now on my old Intel based computer without major incident. I just put together an AMD system, however, and after installing it now as soon as I click on the Protools icon, my computer just reboots. I have never seen this before, and I'm having a hard time figuring it out. I'm running Protools LE 6.4 with the latest updates, and my computer is up to date as well. If anyone has any ideas about this, I would really appreciate any help. Thank you.

AMD Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V Deluxe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:56 AM
Supernaut Supernaut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Rebooting on startup?

I know no one has responded to this post yet, but I thought I'd update it in case anyone is reading this.

Going on an idea from a computer problem I had once, I disabled "Automatically Restart" under Control Panel->System->Advanced->Startup and Recovery. Sure enough, instead of the reboot, it now goes to blue screen. The exact error message was:

An attempt has been made to execute non-executable memory.

It said this, along with some other generic info and steps to take, including checking newly installed software or hardware, etc. If anyone can tell me anything about this I'd really appreciate it. Something? Anything?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2005, 10:44 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Rebooting on startup?

From the compatibility pages:
Quote:
Windows XP SP2, Microsoft DEP and PACE InterLok Drivers Update

* if you encounter unexplained blue screens, freezes or spontaneous reboots when launching Pro Tools with Windows XP Service Pack 2, please update your PACE InterLok drivers:
o Download Current InterLok Drivers
o More information from the PACE website
* The current InterLok drivers solve the described problems without having to disable Microsoft's DEP (Data Execution Prevention) feature introduced with Windows XP Service Pack 2.


Also, if you're using 6.4, make sure you have installed both the Pro Tools LE 6.4cs6Plug-In Update and the Pro Tools LE 6.4cs9 update
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2005, 09:51 PM
Supernaut Supernaut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Rebooting on startup?

Thank you, thank you. That appears to have done the trick. I am in your debt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Spikes and rebooting Old School Audio Guy Windows 5 01-26-2013 07:36 AM
xp keeps rebooting dontreedthis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-09-2006 10:38 AM
When I install, my PC keeps rebooting... aaricwon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-12-2005 10:03 AM
Digi 002 rebooting? chadoworld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-16-2004 06:45 PM
Mac Keeps Rebooting Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-17-2002 03:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com