Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2015, 09:57 PM
JF_Rock JF_Rock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 4
Default Just bought the subscription

Hey all,

I have used Ableton Live along while now and decided to switch to PT today
Reason: Ableton seems like it is not evolving.

Ill admit it was intimidating, but I need to see what i am missing......Well after 1 hour and 30 minutes on the phone with Tech Support ripping my PC apart they were not able to get it to launch.

Win7 64 SP1
i7 5960x
64Ram

So I filled out a money return request and will not be returning.
I really had hoped my experience would've been better.

It also concerned me that many people seem to have a bad taste in their mouths when it comes to Avid failing to fix the earlier version of PT.

See you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2015, 10:51 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Just bought the subscription

Quote:
Originally Posted by JF_Rock View Post
Hey all,

I have used Ableton Live along while now and decided to switch to PT today
Reason: Ableton seems like it is not evolving.

Ill admit it was intimidating, but I need to see what i am missing......Well after 1 hour and 30 minutes on the phone with Tech Support ripping my PC apart they were not able to get it to launch.

Win7 64 SP1
i7 5960x
64Ram

So I filled out a money return request and will not be returning.
I really had hoped my experience would've been better.

It also concerned me that many people seem to have a bad taste in their mouths when it comes to Avid failing to fix the earlier version of PT.

See you
One thing all of us learned very early when dealing with ProTools on a Windows operating system, they support Very, let me say again very, few windows computers. That being said I've heard it runs really great on windows what you got the right machine. However the only way to guarantee going to work, is to be on a Mac.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2015, 11:32 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: Just bought the subscription

There are some secrets that I found right here on the DUC that helped me get my Win7/PT 10/11 Vanilla rig working as well as my MacPro PTHD rig. PM me for the basics when you're up and running. First things first don't be trying this with an Office or common Gaming W7/8 rig. You gotta spec tightly and wall it off.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2015, 11:36 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,419
Default Re: Just bought the subscription

Thanks tonepad for offering to help.

JF_Rock - Sorry we were unable to identify the root cause with your system. Willing to escalate if you are interested in troubleshooting further.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2015, 06:19 AM
JF_Rock JF_Rock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Usa
Posts: 4
Default Re: Just bought the subscription

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonepad View Post
There are some secrets that I found right here on the DUC that helped me get my Win7/PT 10/11 Vanilla rig working as well as my MacPro PTHD rig. PM me for the basics when you're up and running. First things first don't be trying this with an Office or common Gaming W7/8 rig. You gotta spec tightly and wall it off.
Yes Ill try anything but wiping my OS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No PT12HD subscription plan? Tim R. Pro Tools 12 24 05-04-2015 04:01 AM
Upgraded PT9->11 before Nov 1 - no support subscription? Ajbbklyn Pro Tools 11 17 10-31-2014 11:45 AM
Music magazine subscription recomendation? GapeOne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 01-09-2004 05:38 PM
Protools SUBSCRIPTION? user1 General Discussion 1 01-21-2002 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com