Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2010, 08:04 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 626
Default Changing Pitch of MIDI

I'm running MP 8.0.3 and love it. I'm playin' around with the Elastic Pitch capability, and it's great. It certainly works on audio tracks, but it doesn't do anything for MIDI tracks. Can someone direct me on how I can change the pitch of MIDI data.. How would I raise violins say, 4 semitones? Do I have to actually drag each note up the scale? I hope there's an easier way of doing it, other than just recording the track over.. Thanks for any insights.. Richrdc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2010, 08:13 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

Choose Event->Midi Real Time Properties. Select a Region of MIDI data and use Transpose to move your notes up or down, then Write to Region if you are happy with the result.

You should read Chapter 29: Midi Editing in the Pro Tools Resource Guide for detailed information on the many ways you can edit MIDI in Pro Tools.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:13 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 626
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

Chapter 29... thanks so much for the instructions and directions... take care
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2011, 02:58 PM
midifirst midifirst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

I'm really surprised that there doesn't seem to be a single key command to raise or lower the pitch of a note in the midi editor.

Please let me know if I'm wrong about this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2011, 03:14 PM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 241
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

In the tracks Playlist selector, be sure the MIDI track is set to Pitched.
Then, insert key changes in the Keys Conductor ruler.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2011, 03:14 PM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

Event > Event Operations > Transpose (Opt-T for Mac).
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2011, 07:32 PM
midifirst midifirst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

Thanks for the previous replies.

Re my previous post;
I'm not sure if it was understood that I was hoping to change the pitch of a midi note with literally a "single Keyboard" command, .i.e. in a fraction of a second.
I didn't want to have to use the mouse at all. An example of how this might be implemented would be to have say, "OPTION COMMAND UP ARROW/DOWN ARROW" raise/lower a note one semitone.
(In Logic option UP/ DOWN Arrow raises/lowers the pitch of a midi note on semitone.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:55 AM
Pieterrr Pieterrr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brussels
Posts: 28
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

i'm curious to hear that answer! i've used logic too, and so far i'm missing that option in protools.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2012, 11:08 AM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

You can nudge MIDI notes by semi-tones using Control (mac) and -\+ on the numeric keypad.
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2012, 01:08 PM
Pieterrr Pieterrr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brussels
Posts: 28
Default Re: Changing Pitch of MIDI

thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi editor - changing selected notes to the same pitch.... mafiacondon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-25-2011 06:11 PM
changing tempo without changing pitch Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2007 06:19 PM
Changing Pitch of incoming midi bubbiesdod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 10-18-2006 12:15 PM
Changing Pitch Notefarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-02-2004 09:31 AM
changing the MIDI pitch from A440... keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-24-2004 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com