Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2019, 05:11 PM
meshzu meshzu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Default Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Hello, Has anyone know if its OK to run Dante Virual Sound Card as the same time as HDX system.
We have a Focusrite RED 4 pre and currently running with HDX, but I wanted to route the Mac system outputs via Dante Virtual Sound Card to the RED 4 outputs 7/8.
We had a few odd errors yesterday and wondering it was related to this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2019, 05:22 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 548
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Yes, it works great. I put DVS on all my machines to get stereo audio out of RX, Basehead, etc. DVS runs into my MTRX. I can even assign separate volume controls on the S6.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12.6
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2019, 08:35 PM
meshzu meshzu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

thanks will give it another try!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2019, 10:54 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 761
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

It works, although I find since upgrading to Mojave it loses clock occasionally and is a bit glitchy, and also needs to be manually started after rebooting. Also using with a MTRX.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2019, 03:25 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 548
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
It works, although I find since upgrading to Mojave it loses clock occasionally and is a bit glitchy, and also needs to be manually started after rebooting. Also using with a MTRX.


Oh, bummer to hear that’s happening in Mojave. I’m still on 10.12.6, and is pretty much ‘set it and forget it’.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12.6
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2019, 04:28 PM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 314
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meshzu View Post
Hello, Has anyone know if its OK to run Dante Virual Sound Card as the same time as HDX system.
We have a Focusrite RED 4 pre and currently running with HDX, but I wanted to route the Mac system outputs via Dante Virtual Sound Card to the RED 4 outputs 7/8.
We had a few odd errors yesterday and wondering it was related to this.
Sorry, don´t understand your issue here, if you have the gear, why don´t you try it?

OK, having said that, don´t take it wrong, we have a RED4 connected to a iMAC through thunderbolt, but the HDX card is connected to a MTRX. We use it as an AD/DA via Dante to the MTRX. So the RED4 is in thunderbolt host mode and not Protools host mode.
Anyway, even in Protools host mode with an HDX card connected, we did a test and found that the Thunderbolt connection works in paralell, even if you set it to PT host. So, if you connect via thunderbolt, you actually don´t need the DVS at all. On Output routing tab, just set your analogue outs to be sourced from Playback 1 and 2 (MAC Core audio) and that´s it.
If you want to route it via Dante, just set your Dante outs from the DVS as your analogue outs source, although I did never tried it, always used thunderbolt.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2019, 04:32 AM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 507
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
It works, although I find since upgrading to Mojave it loses clock occasionally and is a bit glitchy, and also needs to be manually started after rebooting. Also using with a MTRX.
Hey Luke,

Running into the same issue here. Any workarounds?

The only way I can get DVS to talk to the MTRX again. Is to Reboot the MTRX, Stop/Start DVS, UnRoute and and ReRoute. Then it randomly comes back.

-L
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2019, 04:49 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 761
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by laki View Post
Hey Luke,

Running into the same issue here. Any workarounds?

The only way I can get DVS to talk to the MTRX again. Is to Reboot the MTRX, Stop/Start DVS, UnRoute and and ReRoute. Then it randomly comes back.

-L
I haven't ever had to reboot the MTRX, but I do have to restart DVS every time I reboot – apparently it's a known issue on Mojave, for which a fix is in the works. The clocking issues though, I haven't found a workaround for. Most of the time it's fine. There was a period where I was wondering why glitch in classical music had suddenly become so popular, when I realised it was the DVS sync issue
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2019, 04:54 AM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 507
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
I haven't ever had to reboot the MTRX, but I do have to restart DVS every time I reboot – apparently it's a known issue on Mojave, for which a fix is in the works. The clocking issues though, I haven't found a workaround for. Most of the time it's fine. There was a period where I was wondering why glitch in classical music had suddenly become so popular, when I realised it was the DVS sync issue
I'm losing sound and have to jump through hoops to get it back. As well as needing to restart DVS.

Thinking of using the AES out of my Blackmagic card and into the 2nd AES DB25 on the MTRX. Probably more stable and no drop outs when doing CPU intensive operations.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2019, 04:56 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 761
Default Re: Dante Virtual Sound Card running with HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by laki View Post
I'm losing sound and have to jump through hoops to get it back. As well as needing to restart DVS.

Thinking of using the AES out of my Blackmagic card and into the 2nd AES DB25 on the MTRX. Probably more stable and no drop outs when doing CPU intensive operations.
That's probably a better bet in pretty much every respect. Does the Blackmagic card have an AES in you can sync to? Otherwise, you'll need to change the clock source in DADman every time you want to switch to that input, which is a bit of a pain. (Or purchase the AES card for the MTRX that has SRC, which is a very expensive solution to that problem.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dante Virtual Soundcard Mike Dy Digidesign Hardware & Software 12 08-21-2018 05:55 PM
Virtual Dante I/O tlinget Third Party Interfaces 2 01-17-2018 04:26 PM
S3 and Dante Virtual Sound card? Tim R. Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 12-11-2017 06:05 PM
No Sound w/ Dante Virtual Soundcard bd0319 Third Party Interfaces 11 04-18-2017 04:31 AM
Dante virtual sound card and PT Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 8 03-22-2016 02:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com