Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > Buy & Sell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-19-2018, 04:04 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Thanks, Christopher. I didn't know that it went back to Pro Tools 10. I thought that was only recent versions.

So you can sell the Pro Tools 10 license bundle and keep the current versions? Interesting.
I mean you can sell the HD versions bundled like HD10/11 but what do you mean by keeping the current version?

You can't split up a bundle like selling the HD10 license and keep HD11 and HD12 (2018) for example but I was saying you can now sell the HD software without the hardware which wasn't allowed before.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2018, 09:00 PM
Amiramiramirror Amiramiramirror is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 3
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

im interrested in the pt 10 hd
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-20-2018, 05:32 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,984
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
I mean you can sell the HD versions bundled like HD10/11 but what do you mean by keeping the current version?

You can't split up a bundle like selling the HD10 license and keep HD11 and HD12 (2018) for example but I was saying you can now sell the HD software without the hardware which wasn't allowed before.
I was speaking of separate bundles. I just didn't know the new rules applied to legacy stuff (HD10.)
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-20-2018, 06:09 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I was speaking of separate bundles. I just didn't know the new rules applied to legacy stuff (HD10.)
Got it

Yes it works as long as you do the TOO correctly and thats a good move on Avids part IMHO.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2018, 10:54 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
but I was saying you can now sell the HD software without the hardware which wasn't allowed before.
You can?!?! Since when was this allowed?? I can purchase a copy of 10HD right now from any user, and they can transfer this into my account?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-20-2018, 11:38 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,984
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Evidently you can. You will need the "Transfer Of Ownership" forms, and the fees paid to Avid.

Updated April 17 2018... http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en363631
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-04-2018, 06:45 PM
churious churious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 45
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Evidently you can. You will need the "Transfer Of Ownership" forms, and the fees paid to Avid.

Updated April 17 2018... http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en363631
Ok this has me confused.

I have a HD9/10 bundle. Can I upgrade this to 12HD and still sell the 9/10 bundle eventually as a separate transfer?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-04-2018, 06:57 PM
Digitaliz Digitaliz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 100
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by churious View Post
Ok this has me confused.

I have a HD9/10 bundle. Can I upgrade this to 12HD and still sell the 9/10 bundle eventually as a separate transfer?
No!
You have to surrender the HD9/10 bundle when you upgrade.

The info is in the document from Avid.
Please forward any confusion directly to Avid!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-31-2018, 08:14 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

To clarify even more, up until about a year ago, if you wanted to sell HD10 or HD9, Avid would only transfer the license to the new buyer if you were also selling the original hardware (core card) it came with, as one package.

As noted, they have changed this and you can sell the license by itself, if you follow the instructions as noted.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-24-2018, 11:58 AM
Tubab Lamin's Avatar
Tubab Lamin Tubab Lamin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 55
Default Re: PT 10 HD. How can I get it?

I'm selling PT10 + CPTK2 licenses which makes a PT10 HD. 300€ (iLok fee not icluded)
__________________
Pro Tools|HD Operator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com