Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-09-2010, 09:07 PM

Default Suggestions on a powerful MacPro setup for composing with VI's

I've been using Pro Tools for composing film scores for ten years. I have Pro Tools|HD 2 Accel. I've been using GigaStudio on PC as my main sampler, but I'm planning to move on and get EWQL Hollywood Strings and other system heavy VI's on a MacPro with Pro Tools. The goal is to get the most powerful Pro Tools system possible on one computer for composing using VI's.

Does anyone have any good advice on how to configure the new MacPro's?
Which MacPro model, number of cores, amount of RAM, etc.

One (perhaps) stupid question:
I've read that Pro Tools can't access more 3 GB RAM. Does this mean that RTAS VI's can't access more than that? There has always been RAM issues with GigaStudio. I'd like to get rid of those...

Thanks!

Pete
Old 08-09-2010, 10:13 PM

Default Re: Suggestions on a powerful MacPro setup for composing with VI's

Someone else may chime in here about which Mac Pro to get, but my suggestion if your doing a lot of composing is to consider using Logic, at least for the composing side. For the simple fact that it now runs in 64 bit, and thus can access a lot more ram. You can always print to audio and then mix and finish in Protools.
Old 08-09-2010, 10:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Someone else may chime in here about which Mac Pro to get, but my suggestion if your doing a lot of composing is to consider using Logic, at least for the composing side. For the simple fact that it now runs in 64 bit, and thus can access a lot more ram. You can always print to audio and then mix and finish in Protools.