Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2007, 12:58 PM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 300
Default duende

Hi!
First of all. Yes, I have searched the duc, but found nothing about this!!!
So to my question. Does anyone have experience with using pro-tools and the ssl duende firewire interface together? What exactly will this interface do? I have read the manual(fast,I admit), but would really like to hear from someone who has been using it before I spend my money.
The plug-in part is pretty amazing I know, but Im more curious about the fw interface.
Will this interface add to the processing power of my pc?

Rossi
__________________
RME UFX Presonus digimax FS Mindprint Envoice Sony DMX r100 Lots of mics LOTS of drums
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:23 PM
Starscream Starscream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 79
Default Re: duende

Humm,

Maybe you might want to try that search engine again seeing that I found over 100+ posts on duende
in the last 3 years.

Matt P
Used to be YODA
Now Known as STARSCREAM
__________________
"To Record Music Is All That Really Matter's!"

"I'm HERE from the Darkside!"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2007, 03:32 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: duende

From what I have read both the Duende and the UAD cards will pretty much only run at a buffer of 2048, which makes then better for mixing than tracking. I don't know if you can use a UAD card in a Intel Quad. I know there were "Issues" with the UAD and the AMD Quads and assume that the Intels are not immune to this. I don't know if the Duende suffers from the same issues as the UAD cards. A better option given the fact you have a Quad might be to invest in some higher end plugs like the McDSP analog channel or Waves SSL collection. I'm not trying to discourage you I just think you mighr be happier with the plugs running at smaller buffer settings.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:06 AM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 300
Default Re: duende

Sir, you are absolutely right!
I searched only the last week
I found, as you said, lots of posts to read.

Rossi
__________________
RME UFX Presonus digimax FS Mindprint Envoice Sony DMX r100 Lots of mics LOTS of drums
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duende V3.1.0 K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-23-2009 07:28 AM
SSL Duende & PT HD on OSX - Anyone using it? DrFord Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-29-2008 12:03 PM
Anyone using Duende? twix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-21-2007 02:30 AM
Duende for PC anyone? PTLExp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2007 03:05 PM
SSL Duende & PT LE...??? Spyda KB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-23-2006 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com