Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:34 AM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

seems pretty interesting. needs the vst wrapper so i was curious if this ran smooth on pt 7.2
thanks in advance

zeeman
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2006, 02:19 PM
P A M P A M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 391
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

Yes, and its a great box tho you have to be aware of two things:

1. its got latency, - so wont work for tracking.

2. the box is new, drivers is not there yet, it wont crash PT, - but there are glitches...
__________________
PAM

Euro-Sound Studio
www.euro-sound.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2006, 04:14 PM
PMoshay PMoshay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: NY
Posts: 621
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

have you compared it to the waves ssl's? (i know they are different consoles).
are the comp/gate more sonicly flexible than the 4000?
tell us more if you can......

Thanks!
__________________
www.PeterMoshay.com
www.LiveFromDarylsHouse.com
Check out new shows on the web each month on the 15th.
Always commercial free, watch on Mac/PC, mobile & tablets.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2006, 05:13 PM
P A M P A M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 391
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

- more info and insight Duende and Waves SSL
__________________
PAM

Euro-Sound Studio
www.euro-sound.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2006, 07:51 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,656
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

Quote:
2. the box is new, drivers is not there yet, it wont crash PT, - but there are glitches...
Do you know that they've released Ver. 1.2? This has fixed every issue I had with Duende, which was only graphical (GUI). It's been very stable for me.

I love the sound. It's without question the best eq and compressor I have for ProTools and I've tried all the big dogs. I have NOT tried Waves SSL, but this comparison question has been asked many times and Duende is usually the favorite by a large margin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:43 PM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

thanks pam/eric for the info.
i wouldn't be tracking with it only mixing.
how bad is the latency?
thanks again

zeeman
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:49 PM
rtcstudio rtcstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

Quote:
I love the sound. It's without question the best eq and compressor I have for ProTools and I've tried all the big dogs. I have NOT tried Waves SSL, but this comparison question has been asked many times and Duende is usually the favorite by a large margin.
Could you point us to these threads, 'cause I seem to have missed them (especially the "large margin" part). My understanding is that if people are looking for "vintage" SSL, that the Duende is from the C300 digital console, and so NOT the sound of those older consoles (someone correct this if it's not right, but I just read that again in another thread). It seems like to me that these are two different animals. Two good animals, but not exactly comparable to each other.
__________________
Pro Tools 10/11 HD, Mac OS 10.8.2, Mac Pro 2 x 2.4 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (June 2012) 64 Gig RAM, Avid HDX Card, OMNI HD I/O, 192 HD 16x16, Artist MC Control, Firewire audio drives, Sony Bravia 42" HDMI monitor, Acer 24" monitor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:22 AM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

from ssl's site:
EQ & Dynamics Channel Plug-In

The EQ and Dynamics Channel Strip plug-in is ported from the C200 console and includes separate high and low pass filters, a four band parametric equalizer, an independent compressor/limiter and gate/expander as well as an output gain adjustment knob.
Stereo Bus Compressor Plug-In

Bus Compressor

The Duende Bus Compressor brings the dual benefits of spectacular audio performance with a universally acclaimed compressor characteristic. Taking its sonic cues from the bus compressor found in the Solid State Logic SL 4000 G Series console,


zeeman
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:32 AM
zeeman zeeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: philadelphia,pa usa
Posts: 568
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

and reading further.

Equalizer Section

The Equalizer section is a classic, flexible four band parametric EQ. This plug-in includes two distinct EQ flavours, one based on the SSL G series EQ and another based on the latest version of SSL’s legendary E series EQ.


http://www.solid-state-logic.com/mus...e_channel.html

check it out

zeeman
__________________
MAC OS 10.11.6
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 48gig ram
PT 2018.1
Lynx Aurora 16/AES16
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2006, 04:25 AM
P A M P A M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 391
Default Re: Anybody try or have ssl\'s duende

- yes, I´ve been using the ver. 1.2 driver since it came out, - and it helped a lot, - but try doing the "alt+shift" on 32 channels..
Offcause it all depends on how you connect the Duende to your system, dont slave it after a fw-drive -it works the best on its own ect.
And the delay-compensation is allover the place.. - to give the Duende the best posible connection I even bought a fw-pci-card for it...hmmm

Regarding the sound, - as said it sound great, - very different from the Waves, - I wouldnt say its better - just different. Both have that SSL-sound so its a matter of taste.
__________________
PAM

Euro-Sound Studio
www.euro-sound.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does HDX work with SSL's Delta link MADI? Rockman413 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 08-12-2013 12:00 PM
Duende V3.1.0 K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-23-2009 08:28 AM
SSL's Pro Convert... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-16-2008 04:42 PM
Anyone using Duende? twix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-16-2007 11:26 AM
Duende for PC anyone? PTLExp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2007 04:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com