Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2019, 05:06 AM
Converted202 Converted202 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: bradford
Posts: 8
Default best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

Hi, am looking at options to load/host VST / AU plug-in pro tools,

Anyone have any advise,

I've there seen the various options, I would like to avoid plug-in delay especially with instruments and obviously any audio quality loss
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2019, 06:07 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,826
Default Re: best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

We use bluecat Patchwork and MB7-2 both cost around $60-$100 but works great and I guess you mean Latency not Delay.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2019, 06:44 AM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 483
Default Re: best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

MB-7 works great.

Another good one is DDMF’s Metaplugin. I use it to add a “wet/dry” control to any plugin which is missing one. You can also make plugin chains and it supports VIs and Midi.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2019, 07:24 AM
Converted202 Converted202 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: bradford
Posts: 8
Default Re: best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

cheers,

do any of these compromise sound quality?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2019, 12:45 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,826
Default Re: best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by Converted202 View Post
cheers,

do any of these compromise sound quality?
... I have tested extensively with Patchworks and MB7-mk2 and there are no audible dfferences with or without the wrappers.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2019, 03:53 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,584
Default Re: best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

+1 patchworks here and you can add Jbrigder if your Vst are 32bit.

I have metaplugin by DDMF also but maybe is me but sounds different from patchworks, don't like it personally.
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2019, 04:44 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,515
Default Re: best option for hosting VST / AU plgs in Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
+1 patchworks here and you can add Jbrigder if your Vst are 32bit.

I have metaplugin by DDMF also but maybe is me but sounds different from patchworks, don't like it personally.
Blue Cat has a special combo price if you buy Patchwork and 32 Lives!
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 09-19-2019 at 04:40 AM. Reason: changed jbridge to 32Lives!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use Reason 9.5 with VST hosting with Pro Tools DonaldM Virtual Instruments 4 06-05-2017 03:17 PM
Hosting video outside of Pro Tools as a slave NGati016 Pro Tools 9 0 10-17-2012 08:42 AM
7.3 installer? Does "clean uninstal" delete bombfactory plgs meekz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-03-2007 08:23 PM
OT - Web Hosting soundsurfr General Discussion 4 07-06-2005 02:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com