Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2019, 11:57 AM
Porky Porky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 116
Default HD Native Thunderbolt 2 / 3 not recognized

Hi all, just completed this build but very confused about the Thunderbolt connection. The motherboard has 2 TB3 (USB-C) connectors, but using an "Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter" my HD Native TB (Omni) isn't recognized. Are these "display port only" connections? I'm sure I'm missing something.

Thanks in advance.

I built this off recommendations from a PT Expert build, but they're using an RME USB interface.

-----------------------------------------

Intel Core i9-9900K Coffee Lake 8-Core, 16-Thread, 3.6 GHz (5.0 GHz Turbo)

GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE LGA 1151 (300 Series) Intel Z390 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Ballistix Sport AT 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2666

EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 Black GAMING, 08G-P4-1071-KR, 8GB GDDR6, Dual HDB Fans
__________________
Dave Porcellino
CBS TV Distribution/On-Air
PT 2019.6.0
S3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2019, 02:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,814
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt 2 / 3 not recognized

Not sure this helps, but my X99 system with TB had a setting in BIOS that told the port whether it should run as TB or as USB3. Could that be something that needs to be checked?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2019, 05:40 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt 2 / 3 not recognized

According to the MB manufacturer's specs, it's TB3:

https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...NARE-rev-10#kf
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2019, 07:37 AM
Porky Porky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 116
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt 2 / 3 not recognized

Thanks all, I found the issue. There is a specific Gigabyte BIOS driver for Thunderbolt that is apparently NOT installed when you update to the current the BIOS. Once I installed the Thunderbolt driver, all was fine. Currently I'm using the Apple TB 2/3 adapter. I ordered the "StarTech.com Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter" because I found some info on the Universal Audio forums that UA had qualified that adapter specifically, and the Apple adapter was NOT qualified. I figured that may apply to the HD Native as well. I hope this helps out someone else with he same issues.

Thanks again.
__________________
Dave Porcellino
CBS TV Distribution/On-Air
PT 2019.6.0
S3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2019, 10:04 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,860
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt 2 / 3 not recognized

Apple TB3-TB2 is recommended by UA and we have used 3 of them for a year now so don’t believe everything on the web!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2019, 11:06 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,063
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt 2 / 3 not recognized

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Apple TB3-TB2 is recommended by UA and we have used 3 of them for a year now so don’t believe everything on the web!
Same here. Been using it with the Octo Satellites for over a year.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt Cables. SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 10-30-2018 10:24 PM
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 01-29-2017 11:40 AM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 10:26 PM
Thunderbolt not Being Recognized fpalmieri Third Party Interfaces 3 03-08-2015 06:04 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com