Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2017, 09:40 AM
patricia2626@live.com patricia2626@live.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
Default Speakers

what good speaker to get budget can be 300 and little more and i have them in attic space it small midum and avid pro tools hd in the future

Last edited by patricia2626@live.com; 09-14-2017 at 07:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2017, 07:48 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,303
Default Re: Speakers

These

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...saAp5xEALw_wcB
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2017, 05:06 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,144
Default Re: Speakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by patricia2626@live.com View Post
what good speaker to get
Need more info like:
What's your budget?
How much space do you have for the monitor speakers?

We could give you all kinds of recommendations but that's only part of the deal. The other part is if your recording space isn't treated right acoustically the most expensive speaker in the world won't sound good. And getting too big of a speaker for a small space won't be good either.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2017, 07:04 AM
patricia2626@live.com patricia2626@live.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
Default Re: Speakers

in medium attic with audio interface and maybe later on get avid pro tools hd
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2017, 07:14 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,144
Default Re: Speakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by patricia2626@live.com View Post
in medium attic with audio interface and maybe later on get avid pro tools hd
You won't need PTHD for anything you're going to be doing in that attic. That'd be a waste of money. As would buying decent monitor speakers until you acoustically treat that attic. Is this an attic with exposed rafters? Or is this a finished attic? You're going to need some acoustic treatment either way. And you still haven't answered the budget question.

What is a medium attic anyway? That term means nothing.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2017, 07:25 AM
melloj melloj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: England
Posts: 169
Default Re: Speakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You won't need PTHD for anything you're going to be doing in that attic. That'd be a waste of money. As would buying decent monitor speakers until you acoustically treat that attic. Is this an attic with exposed rafters? Or is this a finished attic? You're going to need some acoustic treatment either way. And you still haven't answered the budget question.

What is a medium attic anyway? That term means nothing.
It sounds like he needs help with English. And I agree Pro Tools HD is for professionals and aspiring professionals, specifically post production. It's over-kill for hobbyists, you don't need it at all for music production unless ypu have a large studio with a big workstation. I used Pro Tools standard for 8 years before I upgraded to HD.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2017, 08:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,651
Default Re: Speakers

JBL LSR305 is one of the best options for small and "budget"
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-14-2017, 12:43 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 618
Default Re: Speakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I concur!
__________________
HD4 Accel
PT HD 8.1.1 on Ivy Bridge i5 - Win 7 Pro 64 bit
HD Omni
192 Analog I/O w/additional analog input card
192 Digital I/O
PT 12.7.1 & 10.3.10 Vanilla Machine
Antelope Zen Studio+
Mid-2015 MBP
iPad Pro
GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH Motherboard
Intel Core i7-4790K Haswell Quad-Core 4.0GHz CPU
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 Video Card
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO Case
Crucial SSDs various 7200 RPM Drives
Windows 10 Pro/Sierra
Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What speakers do you use? kd_special Post - Surround - Video 1 06-18-2013 01:01 PM
DEBATE: Using other speakers and crappy speakers to check mixes! DJ Hellfire Tips & Tricks 15 06-03-2010 08:46 PM
///PT8 thru mac speakers onepercentfree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-03-2009 12:11 PM
Aux in and speakers out cachemira ICON & C|24 5 07-03-2003 04:28 AM
12” 3-way speakers? bassmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-23-2001 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com