Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-20-2015, 01:44 PM
OliverH OliverH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 95
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Quote:
Originally Posted by jello View Post
thats my exact problem too, a real PT killer and weird that they don`t fix it asap - sidechaining is a real part of my technique.
AGREED! SAME HERE! I wish more people would complain about this so we can get it on Avid's radar

(I have a feeling it's already on their radar but just low priority..... how low? who knows...)
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1, 2014 "trash can")
Sierra 10.12.6
32 GB RAM
Pro Tools HD 12.8.1
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD I/O 16x16 Analog
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-20-2015, 01:48 PM
OliverH OliverH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 95
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundEng1 View Post
This has to be fixed! i paid $599.00 for HD FEATURES!!
Agreed. In my opinion, it shouldn't even be relegated to being an "HD Feature." You either have delay compensation, or you don't. The way I look at it, it's a bug. But Avid's take on it is that this is an HDX-only feature... I guess it has something to with needing DSP... not sure I buy that. Or they're just rewarded those that shelled out the most $$ for a system with that "feature." ADC should work across all versions of PT, period. Seems like a pretty vital component to a DAW that its delay compensation be rock solid through and through.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1, 2014 "trash can")
Sierra 10.12.6
32 GB RAM
Pro Tools HD 12.8.1
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD I/O 16x16 Analog
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-20-2015, 03:21 PM
jello jello is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Looks like we are the only one using sidechain in Protools.

Its really weird that nobody are talking about this!


Whats the best way to get attention from Avid?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-20-2015, 03:28 PM
jello jello is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Here from 2013, wtf

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-in&popup=true
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2015, 03:40 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

So, just to reiterate, this problem only affects users using delay compensation?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-20-2015, 03:58 PM
OliverH OliverH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 95
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
So, just to reiterate, this problem only affects users using delay compensation?
not sure, Alex. But I would assume that if you're not using delay compensation, then you're not using any plugins that induce any delay on the tracks they're being used on. If that's the case, this problem wouldn't arise since your session wouldn't be dealing with any delay anywhere and whatever's being sent to a sidechain trigger input of a plugin won't be out of time with the rest of your tracks. Does that make sense?

My feeling is that people who use very low latency plugins (say something like 64 samples, as opposed to something like a UAD plugin which is more like 1,000+ samples of delay) are technically having this same problem but just don't know/hear it because the offset is so minimal since they're aren't using 'high latency-inducing' plugins. But get into more complex plugin chains where you're latency sum total is getting higher and you will hear the problem.

Like I said, this is MOST evident with something like a transient rich trigger source like a kick drum feeding the sidechain input of a compressors on a bass which is much less transient rich, comparatively speaking. You can hear the 'misfiring' more grossly in a situation like this.

But say you wanted to do the pumping house music sidechain compression trick where you duck all your synths/guitars/EFX/vocals,etc slaving them to the kick drum pattern in your song... you'll hear it badly here too since the ENTIRE mix will practically be affected and be triggered off-time from the main kick drum you're hearing.

Again, you COULD get around this by copying your kick track (and even losing any plugins on it if all you're looking for is a clean attack to trigger the sidechain input of a compressor somewhere else in your mix) and then scoot it around in time to line up... but i'll say it again... that's seem pretty ghetto for really expensive HD DAW software that already has a 'delay compensation' engine built into it.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1, 2014 "trash can")
Sierra 10.12.6
32 GB RAM
Pro Tools HD 12.8.1
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD I/O 16x16 Analog
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-21-2015, 07:05 AM
darbyclash34 darbyclash34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 225
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Man, I don't do a whole lot of sidechaining, but the last time I did it I was triggering a DBX160 from NI on bass from a Kick Channel that had a bunch of UAD plugs on it, and I couldn't get it to sound right to me, I didn't spend a lot time worrying about it, but obviously that's why it didn't work out. That's ******** that it's an HDX only feature, there's no way there is something about the HDX card that makes this possible and would otherwise bring a native system to its knees. The system is already sending the audio to its own inserts early, it could just as easily send the sidechain at the correct time. Or at least give us the he option to make the sidechain feed pre-insert, so the latency doesn't mess up the timing.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-21-2015, 10:29 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

I see, Oliver, thanks. I manually compensate every track with delay-inducing plugins on it by nudging (ALT-H) each track and making a note of it in the comments section. I will note that I use zero-latency plugins almost exclusively. I never use delay compensation, as I do not trust it, and I'm so used to doing it the old "ghetto" way, that I just do it and it doesn't take me much effort or time at all. I have not noticed sidechain issues here (mostly sidechaining kick to bass guitar or vocals to guitars in rock/pop music).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-22-2015, 12:41 PM
jello jello is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 66
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
I see, Oliver, thanks. I manually compensate every track with delay-inducing plugins on it by nudging (ALT-H) each track and making a note of it in the comments section. I will note that I use zero-latency plugins almost exclusively. I never use delay compensation, as I do not trust it, and I'm so used to doing it the old "ghetto" way, that I just do it and it doesn't take me much effort or time at all. I have not noticed sidechain issues here (mostly sidechaining kick to bass guitar or vocals to guitars in rock/pop music).
Yeah, thats the way I did it in PT 8 - Impossible to be creative, and flow with my ideas - took to much time.

Is it possible to do brauer multibus compression in PT now, or is the ADC off (phase smear) like it was a couple of years ago?

I think PT will be for recording and editing only for me from now on
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-23-2015, 07:06 AM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 539
Default Re: no side chain delay compensation for HD Native users

As a HD Native user I find it ridiculous this isn't a feature. My last film score used a lot of side chaining. I even have buses labeled for the purposes. It's one of those things I've learned to live with. It sucks.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 12.7 HD_OSX 10.12.2 / 11.3.2 HD_OSX 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
side chain delay comp solved (Non-HD) Macsearcher Pro Tools 11 Discussion 1 02-04-2015 01:40 PM
Delay Comp and Side Chain Issue jimmyzk Pro Tools Software (Mac) 15 02-11-2013 05:48 PM
Delay Compensation using Side Chain Oblivion777 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 4 10-11-2012 01:22 PM
Delay comp and Side Chain Issue jimmyzk Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 10-01-2012 02:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com