Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2011, 04:04 PM
new2mbox2 new2mbox2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 28
Default New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

Hello, new here...

I bought a second hand Mbox2 yesterday, it had what appeared to be all discs, code cards, etc.

I installed the windows ver PT 6.8.1 and it asked for a auth code. I did not get that code, cant find it in the packet I recieved, no getting started with mbox book...

I have registered the Mbox2 and the PT Ignition pack with the cards from the box.

I do have Auth codes in my account for versions 5 through 7.3, but of course these do not work.

Is there any way I can get a code for PT?

Either free or as a upgrade license, new version???? What options do I have in this case?

Thank you for your help, I can provide any numbers to an Administrator from Avid if needed through PM or email
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2011, 04:27 PM
new2mbox2 new2mbox2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

Im not looking for a freebies (unless, my ownership of the box and or other versions of the software warrants that)

I do have everything from the original packing except the getting started guide with auth code. I bought it used.

Although I have auth codes for several other versions of protools in my avid account, I had a break in years ago and lost my original mbox, my 002 and most of my musical gear along with all my software discs. I havent owned a digidesign product since that, other than a Mpowered setup.

I didnt even know I had codes stored on avid, until I tried to register yesterday for support.

If I need to buy something I would like real facts on what versions will work with the mbox2 so I dont get in a jam if there are issues with newr software. Im also afraid to buy from ebay, though there are some seemingly good deals.

Id like to get or buy what I need asap, and if downloading from avid is an option that would be great. Just need to know what to buy.

Im on windows xp, btw

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2011, 05:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,892
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

What codes do you have? If you have a code for a version that will work with the Mbox2 and XP, then you should be able to download the correct version if you can successfully log onto your MyAvid(formerly MyDigi) account. An email to tech support or customer service would be my suggestion for that. Another option would be to buy PT8, which you should be able to get a great deal on(since PT9 hit the stores). PT8 adds a lot of good features over the older 6.x versions.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2011, 05:42 PM
new2mbox2 new2mbox2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

Thank you, the following codes are in my avid account


Pro Tools LE 7.3.x
Pro Tools LE 7.0
Pro Tools LE 7.1.x
Pro Tools LE 6.0
Pro Tools LE 5.3.1

Im not sure what the x means?

My mbox2 came with a real disc from digidesign for version 6.8.1

Which version will work for the mbox2?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2011, 05:47 PM
new2mbox2 new2mbox2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

I cannot seem to find any way to contact avid via email and I dont qualify for a support code, it appears, so I am at a loss as to how I would make personal contact with them

Are you saying that if I have the auth code in my account, I may be able to download a new copy of the program?

That would be nice

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2011, 06:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,892
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

If you have Windows XP, then I would go with 7.3(the x just includes all sub-versions or cs updates). Go to the page where you find all those codes and look for a link to downloads.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2011, 02:54 AM
new2mbox2 new2mbox2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

Thanks you, the download page doesnt show anything. I have been all over the site and havent turned up anything.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2011, 03:29 PM
new2mbox2 new2mbox2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

bump, can anyone tell me my options, at least tell me what to buy so I can start using this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,892
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

try this page, part way down
http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...3=1450&Hilite=
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,892
Default Re: New to me Mbox2 missing auth code, any hope????

If that fails, shoot me an email at my screen name at hotmail. I have an original disk for 7.1 on XP with Mbox2(and a few other interfaces). I will give you a great deal on it
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing Auth Code adam79 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 03-05-2013 08:36 PM
no auth.code nfinite2006 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 12-20-2008 12:12 PM
LE 7.3 auth code Touchwood Studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-09-2007 04:53 PM
Bad Auth Code? n3xus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-28-2006 04:07 PM
"PT 6.9 auth code please" Jervy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-01-2005 03:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com