Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2017, 08:06 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 535
Default New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Hello to all... I've got a nice new laptop, tons of RAM and rather than keep the old computer set up, which was my original plan, I'm thinking of using the new Lenovo. One little problem, or maybe big problem is that I like my M-Audio Project Mix I/O, which runs on a fire wire connection. New computer has no fire wire connection. So, the question is, before I go updating the DAW which I don't really want to do, is there a hub or adaptor cord that can actually go from fire wire to USB 3? The hope is, yes there is.. thank you all for any comments. RichrdC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2017, 04:06 AM
StillHollow StillHollow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Can't be done as they are completely different and incompatible protocols. Maybe sell it and buy something USB based?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2017, 08:09 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 535
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Thanks for verifying what I thought StillHollow.. I see adapters out there but I'll bet the transfer of data speeds has got to get hit big time and wouldn't work on real time data movement. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2017, 10:15 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,585
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Is it possible to put a Firewire Express card in the laptop? If so, make sure it has a TI chipset.

The other question would be will the Project Mix have drivers for Windows 10 and/or work with your version of Pro Tools?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2017, 12:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,883
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Is it possible to put a Firewire Express card in the laptop? If so, make sure it has a TI chipset.

The other question would be will the Project Mix have drivers for Windows 10 and/or work with your version of Pro Tools?
Indeed^^^ If that is not an option(and it probably isn't) then the PM is a door stop. Grab a new interface that uses a connection that the new laptop has and add something for control according to your needs and budget. A few things to look at are:
Presonus Faderport(still using mine with Windows 10 and PT12.8.1HD). Great transport buttons, foot switch jack for stop/start or for quick-punch(hit the SHIFT button on the FP).
Presonus Faderport8This new 8-fader box looks pretty handy(but I have not used one)
Artist Mix Get a used one for around $600 and stick the little Faderport next to it.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2017, 01:12 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 535
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Yeah, Albee1952, I think doorstop is the next stop..I doubt if there are Windows 10 drivers for the PMIO.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2017, 03:21 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Is it possible to put a Firewire Express card in the laptop? If so, make sure it has a TI chipset.
If the laptop has a ExpressCard/34 or /54 slot, this would work http://www.siig.com/it-products/fire...presscard.html I use this in my laptop rig (see sig); works great/rock solid. Newer laptops typically do not have an ExpressCard slot. I'd suggest getting a new audio I/O, rather than trying to get Firewire to work.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 64 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 64 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / ext USB2 drive / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
About me: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...fyAsamJLA/edit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2017, 09:46 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 535
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Thanks EGS.. I think a new laptop, which I've already got, may make me have to go get a different control surface. Albee1952 had a couple names and I'm intrigued by the Presonus Fadeport 8.. along with something else I can plug multiple instruments into in order to record.. Thanks for your input. Take care
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2017, 09:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,883
Default Re: New Computer & Project Mix I/O

Faderport is a control surface. You still will need an interface. If you're a fan of UAD plugins, Apollo is probably the best option. Otherwise, you have tons to pick from at all price points. My own 2 cents:
RME-not cheap but excellent and probably the best drivers on the planet
Focusrite-great value but some driver issues to conquer, YMMV
MOTU-great value
M-Audio-NOT great value(not recommended by me)
Audient- definitely worth a look

I suggest some time on youtube watching reviews and tutorials on any interface you are considering
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create New Project - There was an error posting the project. descendant Pro Tools | First Discussion 13 04-24-2016 06:35 PM
New Project's saving to existing Project's??? larsongs Pro Tools 10 Discussion 9 04-13-2015 02:29 PM
Project crashing my computer kringe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-17-2011 02:23 AM
Optimum MAC computer to Run ProTools M Powered 8.0.3 with Project Mix io KeithKenny Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 01-02-2010 12:50 AM
making a project sound like a project skwad Tips & Tricks 2 01-25-2007 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com