Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2013, 03:38 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 337
Default Getting AVID's attention

Is there any way to actually contact AVID to report bugs and problems?
It seems to me like there is no support without an AVID support code any more.

I don't need assisted support, I just want to support problems I believe are bugs (like the wrong processing delay of the MDW EQ v5). I'm surely not buying ASC to report THEIR mistakes.

Any ideas how to get AVID's attention?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2013, 05:24 AM
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

http://protools.ideascale.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2013, 06:30 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 710
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias Eichelberg View Post
. . . to support problems I believe are bugs (like the wrong processing delay of the MDW EQ v5). . . . Any ideas how to get AVID's attention?
Thanks
Re-post your thread with a more meaningful title, like: "MDW EQ v5 bug report"
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2013, 08:19 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,625
Post Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias Eichelberg View Post
Is there any way to actually contact AVID to report bugs and problems?
It seems to me like there is no support without an AVID support code any more.
I don't need assisted support, I just want to support problems I believe are bugs (like the wrong processing delay of the MDW EQ v5). I'm surely not buying ASC to report THEIR mistakes.
Any ideas how to get AVID's attention?
Thanks
Hey Tobias,

We do not expect anyone to pay to report a bug. We use a combination of DUC and IdeaScale to verify and report/track bugs.

Please see Bug Reports text at http://protools.ideascale.com for directions.

Thanks!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2013, 11:47 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hey Tobias,

We do not expect anyone to pay to report a bug. We use a combination of DUC and IdeaScale to verify and report/track bugs.

Please see Bug Reports text at http://protools.ideascale.com for directions.

Thanks!
And also let Massenburg know if its a bug in the plug.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2013, 04:02 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,664
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hey Tobias,

We do not expect anyone to pay to report a bug. We use a combination of DUC and IdeaScale to verify and report/track bugs.

Please see Bug Reports text at http://protools.ideascale.com for directions.

Thanks!
I hate to sound snippy but it seems like Avid doesn't do anything about bugs long reported via Ideascale. They may get tracked and verified but there are bugs long reported that still exist.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2013, 04:48 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

the older the bug the harder it is to find do to the plate of spaghetti the code is now
if 11 is the full rewrite into moduler 64 bit code (that the rumor anyway):
a) hopefully the bugs get squashed in the rewrite
b) they will be easier to find and fix w/o braking something else
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2013, 05:44 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
the older the bug the harder it is to find do to the plate of spaghetti the code is now
if 11 is the full rewrite into moduler 64 bit code (that the rumor anyway):
a) hopefully the bugs get squashed in the rewrite
b) they will be easier to find and fix w/o braking something else
Exactly. Hopefully its a clean slate of code and brings both some new features and bug fixes. I'm sure it will do both.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2013, 06:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,664
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Exactly. Hopefully its a clean slate of code and brings both some new features and bug fixes. I'm sure it will do both.
And new bugs
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2013, 07:02 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,382
Default Re: Getting AVID's attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
And new bugs
But now we'll have a 64bit bugsquashers Easier to eradicate new bugs than old old forgotten twists of molasses in the code.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A note from Avid's new CEO Louis Hernandez General Announcements 0 02-11-2013 04:30 PM
avid's address ? hmj Eleven Rack 5 06-21-2012 01:31 PM
Avid's AAX plugins (what's available) MarkH macOS 2 02-22-2012 09:05 AM
Need Avid's tech support. But where? MetalGarret Windows 4 07-17-2011 02:15 PM
Avid's Website is Down? myke2242 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-01-2010 07:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com