Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:07 PM
KTKonflict KTKonflict is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Function Keys STILL not workng...

I have tried everything. I have done everything that I know to do. I have disabled everything possible to get them to work. Does anybody know anything?

Please and thank you of course.

EDIT:

Okay, F6 (trimmer tool) is working, but none of the others 1-12 are working.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:24 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

What computer are you using? Which keys are you referring to? The F1-F12 keys? Have you checked your keyboard preferences?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:28 PM
KTKonflict KTKonflict is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

I am on an Intel Mac Mini.
And yes the F1-12 Keys.

And yup, I have tried those too.

This is getting to me. I have been trying for a few days to not ask for help haha.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:47 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

I've just gone thru my system and found that as long as I don't have any F-keys assigned as dashboard/expose shortcuts and the "Use F1-F12 to control software features" button is checked, they all work as expected in Pro Tools. Do these keys do ANYTHING in your system? Have you tested to be sure they're functional for any purpose?

BTW, I'm currently working with my powerbook G4/Mbox2Pro system just doing screenshots for some stuff, so the fact that it's a laptop might change some things.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:32 AM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

what keyboard are you using? Do you have a "F" lock button? On my old keyboard the "F" lock button would turn on by default at bootup.
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2008, 01:27 PM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

Quote:
I've just gone thru my system and found that as long as I don't have any F-keys assigned as dashboard/expose shortcuts and the "Use F1-F12 to control software features" button is checked, they all work as expected in Pro Tools. Do these keys do ANYTHING in your system? Have you tested to be sure they're functional for any purpose?

BTW, I'm currently working with my powerbook G4/Mbox2Pro system just doing screenshots for some stuff, so the fact that it's a laptop might change some things.
I guess people keep overlooking that part of the installation that tells you to disable the DASHBOARD and SPOTLIGHT shortcuts.
I agree that's where he should look for the cause of the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:02 PM
KTKonflict KTKonflict is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

Quote:
Quote:
I've just gone thru my system and found that as long as I don't have any F-keys assigned as dashboard/expose shortcuts and the "Use F1-F12 to control software features" button is checked, they all work as expected in Pro Tools. Do these keys do ANYTHING in your system? Have you tested to be sure they're functional for any purpose?

BTW, I'm currently working with my powerbook G4/Mbox2Pro system just doing screenshots for some stuff, so the fact that it's a laptop might change some things.
I guess people keep overlooking that part of the installation that tells you to disable the DASHBOARD and SPOTLIGHT shortcuts.
I agree that's where he should look for the cause of the problem.


That's what I thought it was. I did look at it, and did everything as told. The F Keys work by themselves, just not in Pro Tools.

I am thinking that when I first got my Mini I had a Dell Keyboard for like a month, before I got this new one. Right now I have just the apple Keyboard. I am trying to see if it changed the hardware to an Apple Keyboard instead of just a standard keyboard.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2008, 07:38 PM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: Function Keys STILL not workng...

What I was suggesting was that you go into your preferences and reset the all the keyboard and mouse settings (both shortcuts and F-key functions) back to default.
Next go to both SPOTLIGHT and DASHBOARD and turn off all the F-keys.

Once you do that check to see if the PT F keys work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't turn off Mac Function keys/turn on PTLE Shortcut keys b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-25-2009 10:15 PM
How about those function keys???? McMasters ICON & C|24 1 04-21-2005 03:50 AM
function keys don't work as quick keys miked45 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-21-2003 11:32 AM
Function Keys Christoph1123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-06-2002 04:33 PM
Function Keys Giovanni2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-10-2001 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com