Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > Partner Announcements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-07-2019, 12:47 PM
drh1's Avatar
drh1 drh1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 58
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
This is starting to look a bit blurry, I think I'll wait to be sure no session will be altered in any way after updating. If there's even the slightest chance that a ST3 session will not open identically in ST4... I'm out.
I could be wrong but from what I gather from looking at their forum is that you will still be able to launch Sampletank 3 separately after you install Sampletank 4. I believe you can continue to have both Sampletank 3 & 4 installed in your system.
__________________
http://douglashood.zenfolio.com/

MSI X99A SLI Plus LGA2011, i7 5930 3.5 GHZ 6 core 12 threads, Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ, NVIDIA Quadro K2200, LG 16x Blu-ray writer, Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB SSD for OS, Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 1 TB SSD for samples, four WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA 3 6Gb/s 7,200 RPM drives (audio, samples, video x 2), EVGA Supernova 750W G2 PSU, Corsair Cooling Hydro H100I V2, W 10 Pro, 4 TB WD USB3 external backup, PT2018.4, IK Sampletank 4 Max, AIR IEP, Wavelab Pro 9.5, RME Fireface UFX w USB2 connection.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2019, 10:19 AM
Peter - IK Multimedia's Avatar
Peter - IK Multimedia Peter - IK Multimedia is offline
IK Multimedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 499
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

Quote:
Originally Posted by drh1 View Post
I could be wrong but from what I gather from looking at their forum is that you will still be able to launch Sampletank 3 separately after you install Sampletank 4. I believe you can continue to have both Sampletank 3 & 4 installed in your system.
Yes, this is how we prefer to do major releases (non-point releases) so that previous projects are not affected. You can also point SampleTank 4 at your SampleTank 3 library (and use multiple library locations finally! <-- The devs love when I add "finally" to that but it is true) to use those sounds in SampleTank 4 going forward.

Yes, the changes are meant to be positive (for example with improved audio engines and such) but we realize that your existing projects sounded the way you liked, the mix worked, etc, when you used the previous version and don't want to disrupt that.
__________________
IK Multimedia - http://www.ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2019, 04:14 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,361
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

Quote:
Yes, this is how we prefer to do major releases (non-point releases) so that previous projects are not affected.
That's either a lie or the words of someone very low information, since not one, but two of your most recent nonpoint releases, in fact, affect all previous projects.
And it's insulting that you would come on our user board and shill such misinformation.

Quote:
Yes, the changes are meant to be positive but we realize that your existing projects sounded the way you liked, the mix worked, etc, when you used the previous version and don't want to disrupt that.
Maybe you missed my post just above, where I quoted not one, not two, but three IKM employees who not only acknowledge that existing projects won't sound the way you like, but lamely add that they will pass along suggestions blah blah blah...

If you really want to come on here and be helpful, you will report back that this new "major release" has remedied all that and will in fact play back all legacy sessions...
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-08-2019, 07:27 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,953
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

For me, "improvements" are only welcome when backward compatibility is not affected.

When a session with multiple Vis is launched, I don't ever want to hear a client say, "why does this sound different than it did the last time we ran it up."

And I certainly don't want to go hunting for a solution on a clients dollar.

So, as long as ST3 can run along side of ST4 without being altered in any way... good.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-17-2019, 07:01 PM
Peter - IK Multimedia's Avatar
Peter - IK Multimedia Peter - IK Multimedia is offline
IK Multimedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 499
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

We've added a master list of what's in SampleTank 4 MAX here: https://www.ikmultimedia.com/product...?p=info#sounds (bottom of the page).
__________________
IK Multimedia - http://www.ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-14-2019, 12:44 PM
Peter - IK Multimedia's Avatar
Peter - IK Multimedia Peter - IK Multimedia is offline
IK Multimedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 499
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

We're one week away from the announced release date of SampleTank 4!
__________________
IK Multimedia - http://www.ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-15-2019, 03:27 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

Is there any instrument list anywhere?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-15-2019, 04:14 PM
Peter - IK Multimedia's Avatar
Peter - IK Multimedia Peter - IK Multimedia is offline
IK Multimedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 499
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Is there any instrument list anywhere?
The master list is available here and lists of each version's contents are coming soon.
__________________
IK Multimedia - http://www.ikmultimedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-15-2019, 10:58 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter - IK Multimedia View Post
The master list is available here and lists of each version's contents are coming soon.
Thank you.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-16-2019, 11:15 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Re: Announcing SampleTank 4 - Avaiable for pre-order now

I'm in for the pre-order, looks like a useful update.

Weird though, I've been an IK customer for years and own a ton of their stuff but never get any info or promo emails....
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Announcing Fender Collection 2 for AmpliTube Peter - IK Multimedia AAX Plug-ins 35 01-16-2017 09:29 AM
Announcing the Tempo 1.0 widget Jory General Discussion 2 10-03-2006 09:16 AM
Announcing Mbox Avid General Announcements 0 01-17-2002 04:37 AM
Announcing Pro Tools|HD Avid General Announcements 0 01-17-2002 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com