Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-1999, 11:57 AM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default powermix R.I.P?

please, somebody say it isn't so. now that digigram has come out with an affordable hi quality i/o for the powerbook, and os9 fixes the error 42 file limit snag, am i stuck with pt 4.3 powermix? not that this is so bad, but i was hoping to run direct connect and unity and powermix on my G3 powerbook. i was told there is no 5.0 or LE powermix. this is like a bad dream, induced by the frightened marketing department that needs to protect the upper end of the pt market. computers are getting too fast. pt hardware is threatened. digi, please confirm the future of powermix?
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-1999, 12:16 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

come on, digi, dish us...
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-1999, 10:11 PM
Stratman Stratman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: NY,NY,USA
Posts: 387
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

My dealer told me that Powermix is history w/5.0 and LE. What a drag but what can ya do. Digi has their ways...my dealer says that if enough people grip they may change it in time..... yeah right.
__________________
It's the computer's game we play when we decide to make music with it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-1999, 09:45 AM
Tim Goodwin Tim Goodwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Manassas VA USA
Posts: 35
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

As I understand it, PT's 5.0 LE is now host based which would essentially make it a powermix system.

I am hopefully really wrong about this.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-1999, 03:09 PM
noisefloor noisefloor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 202
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

Posted on an earlier thread...

"TechSupt2
posted 09-28-99 05:39 PM

On a side note Pro Tools v5.0 LE will require the use of hardware to run....AMIII card or the 001 interface. There will be no PowerMIX version of the software.

Brad"

So there you have it. Powermix users have no upgrade path, and AMIII users are stuck with a new version of protools that is lacking features that they have today in 4.3.2.


Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-1999, 03:37 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

noisefloor wrote:
So there you have it. Powermix users have no upgrade path, and AMIII users are stuck with a new version of protools that is lacking features that they have today in 4.3.2.

What features do AMIII PT 4.3.2 have now
that they will not have with PT 5.0 LE?
From what I've seen it looks like AM3 users
are getting an excellent upgrade with 5.0 LE
Like Higher track count, R.A.S.P plug-ins
and true MIDI integration.
Could you please explain the "lacking Features"?

Mj
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermix 5.x ? Bryan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-23-2000 01:11 AM
Mac OS9 w/PT4.3.1 Powermix? trakbytes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-19-2000 10:30 AM
Powermix four3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-20-2000 12:07 PM
G4?450 W/ Powermix? 606 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-17-1999 03:42 PM
PowerMix for NT? dhodgson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 02-01-1999 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com