Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2010, 06:47 PM
ChrisStever ChrisStever is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2
Default ProTools 9 Crashes at launch (Quit Unexpectedly)

I just crossgraded ProTools 9 today, super-excited to start using all the new upgrades. Download, install, upgrade my hardware driver, add the new license to my iLok, click on ProTools icon, wait for it to load, and it crashes after loading. It doesn't give an error message or anything, just says it quit unexpectedly. I tried it several times and it does the same thing. Also tried uninstalling and reinstalling both ProTools and the interface.

I'm on a MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo w/ 10.6.3 and an M-Audio FireWire 1814.

Anyone experience this? Any ideas? This is really annoying. If I don't get it working soon, I'm going to lose business.

Thanks a lot
-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2010, 07:27 PM
mgtube mgtube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Geneva Switzerland
Posts: 48
Default Re: ProTools 9 Crashes at launch (Quit Unexpectedly)

Perform a Disk Permissions repair and it might work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2010, 07:44 PM
crow crow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 81
Default Re: ProTools 9 Crashes at launch (Quit Unexpectedly)

That happened to me on the first launch.

Make sure all your plugins are up to date. In my case, I had to install the latest Waves, Pod Farm and Kontakt 4 versions and now everything is running smoothly. If in doubt, temporarily remove suspect plugins from your plugin folder and see what happens.

Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2010, 10:32 PM
ChrisStever ChrisStever is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2
Default Re: ProTools 9 Crashes at launch (Quit Unexpectedly)

It appears to be my Waves plug-ins. I moved all of them into the "unused plug-ins" folder and ProTools opened. So I guess I either need to update them (more $) or just move on.

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2012, 04:19 AM
neilmckenzie neilmckenzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 5
Default Re: ProTools 9 Crashes at launch (Quit Unexpectedly)

I was having a similar problem. Clicking on Pro Tools and then the splash screen was disappearing and startup/initialisation was aborted without it giving me any warning or dialogue box.

The hard drive was completely full. That sorted it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 9 quit unexpectedly Rob Ruzzano macOS 2 05-24-2011 07:34 PM
Pro Tools won't launch (unexpectedly quit) Furn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-05-2008 10:26 AM
Cannot launch ProTools 6.9.2 - "Quit Unexpectedly" Mix One 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-04-2007 06:26 AM
HELP "ProTools LE Has Unexpectedly Quit" on Launch NHSD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-24-2006 12:57 PM
PT 6.8.1 crashes at start (Unexpectedly quit)mbox2 DiGeneral 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-08-2006 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com