Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2020, 03:43 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,797
Default Processor affinity

I've read a few posts about manually setting processor affinity. Are most Windows/Pro Tools users here currently doing this? Is it now considered standard practice? Thanks!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2020, 03:55 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,435
Default Re: Processor affinity

Probably not standard practice, but it's helped me with a few issues. There is a way to get the PT shortcut to automatically start PT with the Processor Affinity you want. However, that won't work if you're running PT as Administrator and/or start PT by double clicking on a session's icon.

I also changed my drives from MBR to GPT, which also seemed to help.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2020, 06:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: Processor affinity

I experimented a little but saw no significant change(but was not aware that running as admin had any affect, so???). Moving from an older socket 1366 to a newer socket 2011 system made a much bigger improvement.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2020, 02:51 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 85
Default Re: Processor affinity

Did quite some affinity experiments using latency monitor. Measurements showed that in cores 0-1, IRQ/DPC max-times were the longest.

Concluded that CPU spiking improved a little by forcing PT to execute on higher numbered cores 2-12, leaving cores 0-1 to whatever windowsy, goes on there.( i7 8750H OMEN laptop 6 real cores 12 virtual cores)

A greater difference came out of inactivating "Control method battery" in device manager. That broke the battery so don't do that. Article found at Sweetwater.

But now for some reason I don't know, perhaps some update, it seems to have improved and I don't usually do affinity. Yet, I would try it again if problems occurr.

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2020, 10:13 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
Default Re: Processor affinity

Got rid of random pops and clicks for me, with low buffers. (I'm talking stupid low, like 32 or 64)

Set up a shortcut to launch PT with the affinity hack and then a macro in Autohotkey to launch the shortcut with a key command.

You have to make peace with the idea that you won't be able to launch sessions directly if you want to do this, but I've found that the recents list is convenient enough.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2020, 04:23 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,435
Default Re: Processor affinity

Pops and clicks gone for me too; why I continue to use the command shortcut.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2020, 09:22 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,797
Default Re: Processor affinity

Well, I just tried it for the first time, & it seems to have fixed my issue!!!

I had a session the other day that was CPU spiking @ 64. Today, I opened the session again - still spikey. Next, I set processor affinity to NOT use cores 1 & 2 (of 12). Then, I set priority to high. The spikes stopped & the session ran perfectly. Reset affinity/priority back as before, & the spikes returned. Tried it again: 1 & 2 off/high priority ---> spikes stopped. I'm sold!!! Here's how to do it: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...essor+Affinity
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo

Last edited by EGS; 09-21-2020 at 06:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2020, 08:35 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,435
Default Re: Processor affinity

Here's some useful links:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e565VSxdVhY

https://bitsum.com/tools/cpu-affinity-calculator/
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2020, 06:27 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,797
Default Re: Processor affinity

We used to have options for "# of Processors" and "CPU Usage Limit" in Playback Engine. When/why did these CPU options go away? Now to achieve this, we need to manually adjust Processor Affinity/Priority?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2020, 09:37 PM
ejinbc ejinbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 74
Default Re: Processor affinity

YES.

Affinity switch setting still required for me to get click/pop free performance at 24/96 with 64 sample buffer (OC 8700K; Win 10; MOTU 1248; PT 2020.9.1; NI Komplete; Waves Gold+). Without this setting the processor switching gets in the way (I think) and the sample que gets serviced too late - and then a click. For my 8700K FFE works best.

At 256 buffer and greater this switch is not required, and in fact can make PT a bit less powered YMMV. So I use 2 command prompts, one with an Affinity switch and one without.

For reference:

cmd.e x e /c start "ProTools" /affinity FFE "C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\Protools.exe

<remove spaces in ".exe" above can't post without added spaces>

ej9inbc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 10; PT 12.5.2; Processor Affinity ejinbc Windows 8 08-01-2016 12:33 PM
CPU Spikes, 12.5, and processor affinity... Work-Around? 59.9hz Pro Tools 12 12 07-22-2016 10:42 AM
Dual core problems with old 6.x rig. Affinity problem. scoobydoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-24-2007 08:12 PM
Set processor affinity fixed -9092, -9093 issues philwinkle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-31-2006 08:33 PM
Dual Core Processor Affinity / 9093 9094 9129 ikelk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-21-2006 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com