Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:19 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully?

I'm having lots of problems with the M-Audio Firewire 1814 interface - constantly changing volume and input levels, etc.
E.g. when I switch on - the mic input level is rarely the same twice.

I have read on this forum that these are common problems.
Many people think that it is a firmware issue.

Has anyone found a solution / workaround / help from M-Audio?
Is there a software version that works better than others?
Would I get fewer problems if I used an Intel Mac?

Pro Tools M-Powered 7.3
Mac OSX 10.4.8
iMac G5 1.8

Thanks for your help.

Richard
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:23 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully?

Which firmware version do you have installed?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2007, 01:04 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully?

Thanks for the quick reply.

My 1814 lists the following on the control panel ABOUT tab:
bootloader: 2004-03-30 02:59:09 +0100
firmware: 2006-02-08 14:42:41 +0000
hardware: model 131 version 1
GUID: 0xD6C04002DC193

I cannot see any firmware updates for the 1814 listed on the M-Audio website.

Thanks for your help.

Richard
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2007, 01:35 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully?

I just remembered - after having the same problems with 1.8.2 I went back to try 1.7.4.

I have just installed 1.8.2 again and the firmware details are the same as in my last post.

I used the M-Audio uninstall program and rebooted the iMac before installing 1.8.2.

Thanks for your help.

Richard
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:15 PM
fhinspectit fhinspectit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 175
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully?

for what it's worth black lion audio now offers a mod for the FW1814.
check it out here: http://www.blacklionaudio.com/maudio_FW1814.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:26 PM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: M-audio Firewire 1814 - anyone using it successfully?

Thanks for your help.

Richard
__________________
Catalina 10.15.6
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
m-audio firewire 1814 daisy??? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 6 01-23-2016 02:32 PM
M-Powered and M-audio Firewire 1814? fredfish Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-17-2009 01:21 PM
003 vs. M-audio firewire 1814 legacygone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2008 07:41 AM
M-audio Firewire 1814??? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-13-2007 10:55 PM
M-Audio Firewire 1814 can't see 8 inputs nickpell Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-29-2006 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com