Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:24 AM
Jack Clark Jack Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Beat Detective - groove conform problem

Hi
I am trying to time some percussion to a live drum track (which has already been timed with BD), to do this I have analysed the drums (kick, snare & hat) and created a groove template. I have then tried to conform the percusssion tracks to this groove template but the audio is basically disappearing. I have used the same start & end points for the selection.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2009, 12:06 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

Version of ProTools?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 12:30 PM
Jack Clark Jack Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

Hi
It's 7.4.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2009, 12:34 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

Hard to say as there are a number of little things that can happen if a step or setting is missed. What are the exact steps you are taking (sequence and settings), and when are things going awry?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2009, 12:43 PM
Jack Clark Jack Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

I made a selection from bar 65 - 90. I then used collection mode to analyse the kick/snare & hat tracks separately. I saved this as a groove template (to disc). I then analysed my percussion tracks (just using the perc hi-hat), separated the regions and tried to conform to the groove template. All in the same session so most of the beat detective settings are the same.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2009, 06:30 AM
Jack Clark Jack Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

bump
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2009, 08:07 AM
Jack Clark Jack Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

I have got round the problem by using the drum groove to generate bar/beat markers, I then quantized the percussion tracks instead of using conform.

Perhaps groove conform is not designed to work in this type of situation?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2009, 09:39 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Clark View Post
Hi
I am trying to time some percussion to a live drum track (which has already been timed with BD), to do this I have analysed the drums (kick, snare & hat) and created a groove template. I have then tried to conform the percusssion tracks to this groove template but the audio is basically disappearing. I have used the same start & end points for the selection.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
By this post it sound like you have a Drum track that has be BD'd to grid and now you want to do the same with the percussion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Clark View Post
I made a selection from bar 65 - 90. I then used collection mode to analyse the kick/snare & hat tracks separately. I saved this as a groove template (to disc). I then analysed my percussion tracks (just using the perc hi-hat), separated the regions and tried to conform to the groove template. All in the same session so most of the beat detective settings are the same.
By your first post it sounded your drums were already to grid. It that is the case, then you need to do the same with the percusion tracks. By your post above it sounds like you forgot to click on the Capture button when you initially selected the region, before you analyzed. In the manual you will find
"You must define or capture the selection every time you make a new selection or change the tempo map. To define the selection range, do one of the following:"
In short, select the segment of region(s), you wish to BD, make sure the start and end points on on a Bar/Beat, then click the Capture button. . . etc. . .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:01 PM
Jack Clark Jack Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Beat Detective - groove conform problem

Hi Howard
Thanks for your reply. My original drum track is not absolutely to the grid, I was looking for a quick way to time some programmed percussion tracks to my original drums (if that makes sense).

I did capture the selection each time so it must be something else.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with beat detective / groove extraction ttrec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-01-2014 01:14 PM
Beat Detective Conform Problem RayCervenka macOS 0 07-11-2013 08:41 PM
Beat Detective Problem with Conform clemsonrich Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-23-2010 02:16 PM
Beat Detective Groove Conform cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-30-2006 12:04 AM
beat detective conform ciuffo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-12-2006 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com