Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2018, 12:34 PM
sb_stefan sb_stefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 85
Default "Assertion" error message upon opening Pro Tools

Been using Pro Tools 12.4.0 on OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 without problem the last couple of weeks, but today when I tried to open it I got this:

Quote:
Could not create a new document because Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/158347/ProTools/DFW/Views/UMenu.MacOS.mm", line 1624.
What happened? How do I resolve this?

EDIT: I used an external hardware as playback engine earlier, which is now no longer physically connected to my computer. Can that have anything to do with it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 01:34 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,058
Default Re: "Assertion" error message upon opening Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by sb_stefan View Post
Been using Pro Tools 12.4.0 on OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 without problem the last couple of weeks, but today when I tried to open it I got this:



What happened? How do I resolve this?

EDIT: I used an external hardware as playback engine earlier, which is now no longer physically connected to my computer. Can that have anything to do with it?
Could well be. Assertion errors like this are usually due to a misconfiguration in the audio I/O. The usual remedy is to hold down the 'n' key on the computer as PT starts up and then you can select the audio interface you want to use.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2018, 04:38 PM
sb_stefan sb_stefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 85
Default Re: "Assertion" error message upon opening Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Could well be. Assertion errors like this are usually due to a misconfiguration in the audio I/O. The usual remedy is to hold down the 'n' key on the computer as PT starts up and then you can select the audio interface you want to use.
Great! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange "Assertion" error causing Pro Tools to quit unexpectedly...???? nickbradbury Pro Tools Software (Mac) 13 09-10-2014 03:50 AM
Help for Error Message - Assertion in "..\Mdie_TrackPlayer.cpp", line 476 lbpease Pro Tools 10 7 01-05-2014 12:15 PM
Pro Tools 11 - constantly get "your settings have changed" message opening sessions kirkbross Pro Tools 11 10 10-22-2013 07:36 PM
Pro Tools Error message Assertion in"/Volumes?/Development/ws.Preston/AlturaPorts etc db5 Pro Tools 9 4 11-16-2010 05:20 PM
Error: "pro tools could not complete the import audio command because assertion in" elsterNJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-15-2009 09:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com