Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2018, 07:05 PM
jgerards jgerards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default Pro Tools and multiple interfaces?

Will Pro Tools recognize multiple interfaces at the same time via separate thunderbolt ports? For example, I have an Apollo 8p, a Focusrite Clarett 8pre, and a Focusrite Scarlett Octopre. I would like to run the Octopre into the Apollo via ADAT and then run the Clarett into the other thunderbolt port on my MacBook Pro. I'm running Pro Tools 12. Is this possible? Thanks for any input?

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2018, 10:41 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,127
Default Re: Pro Tools and multiple interfaces?

Octopre into Apollo: Pro Tools won't care because Pro Tools only needs to talk to the Apollo. So this will work.

Apollo + Clarett will require making an aggregate audio device and then having Pro Tools talk to the aggregate. That's if you are on a Mac.

If you aren't on a Mac, it's not possible.

Pro Tools, on its own, will not talk to more than one audio device at all. It's up to something else to make more than one audio device appear as one device (Aggregate CoreAudio for Macs, in this case.)

The connection type doesn't matter (thunderbolt, firewire, usb) when you make an aggregate audio device.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2018, 02:14 AM
Fredrik Jansson Fredrik Jansson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hagstuvägen 29
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools and multiple interfaces?

"Apollo + Clarett will require making an aggregate audio device and then having Pro Tools talk to the aggregate. That's if you are on a Mac."

How do you do this?
I want to use my 003 as Control Surface with my Apogee Symphony as interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2018, 11:41 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Pro Tools and multiple interfaces?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fredrik Jansson View Post
"Apollo + Clarett will require making an aggregate audio device and then having Pro Tools talk to the aggregate. That's if you are on a Mac."

How do you do this?
I want to use my 003 as Control Surface with my Apogee Symphony as interface.
Use this Apple Support Article to help you create an aggregate audio device.

Once created, start Pro Tools, and change the playback engine to use your new aggregate audio device. The name will show up as whatever you named your aggregate in the steps above.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces? elsanto Pro Tools 10 6 01-17-2015 11:48 AM
Will Avid ever update Pro Tools so you can use multiple interfaces again? Doddethy Pro Tools 10 6 06-18-2013 10:14 PM
multiple interfaces with Pro Tools 8 montelee Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 01-06-2013 09:29 PM
PT 9 and Multiple Interfaces mhelm01 Pro Tools 9 25 12-03-2010 08:46 AM
Multiple interfaces on a Mac nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-14-2005 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com