Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2018, 11:00 AM
piedpiper piedpiper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fairfield, Iowa
Posts: 3
Default Mbox Pro 3 not recognized on Sierra

Been using Protools for years using a BLA modded 002R and a 2011 iMac. I recently bought a used Mbox Pro 3 for my daughter and am trying to test it out for her with my girlfriend's 2015 MacBook Pro using the Firewire to Thunderbolt adapter and nothing here either. Running Sierra on both. Haven't dared to update to High Sierra. I have the latest drivers and Protools. Not showing up as connected. Is this definitely a driver thing? Is there no option but to wait for Avid to fix it with new drivers? Anyone have luck with this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2018, 01:35 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,905
Default Re: New Mbox 3 Pro Driver Needed for Pro Tools 2018.1

On my home system, MBox Pro 3 working 100% with High Sierra 10.13.2. This is a supported config. Not sure why it wouldn't be seen.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2018, 12:03 PM
piedpiper piedpiper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fairfield, Iowa
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Mbox 3 Pro Driver Needed for Pro Tools 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
On my home system, MBox Pro 3 working 100% with High Sierra 10.13.2. This is a supported config. Not sure why it wouldn't be seen.
What computer are you using? And are you using a firewire to thunderbolt adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2018, 12:10 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,905
Default Re: New Mbox 3 Pro Driver Needed for Pro Tools 2018.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by piedpiper View Post
What computer are you using? And are you using a firewire to thunderbolt adapter?
Mac Pro 6,1. Thunderbolt 2 to Firewire adapter.

Firewire cables can be flaky. Try a different cable, and do whatever you can to get a FW800>400 cable. The 800>400 adapters are a pain. Also make sure you have Mbox Pro app available to troubleshoot.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2018, 03:04 PM
arekhgr arekhgr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 not recognized on Sierra

I have the same problem. :/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2018, 08:24 AM
Fadda Fadda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 not recognized on Sierra

Has anyone been able to sort this out? I’m having the same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2018, 10:35 AM
eggbox eggbox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 not recognized on Sierra

I had the same problem but have finally found the solution after a lot of head scratching. Hopefully you did the same thing as me anyway and this fixes it for you.

I remembered when I installed the driver a pop up came up and in my haste to get things working (ironically) I didn't read it and clicked OK (In blue making you think you should press it) and carried on the installation. Anyway, that pop up was the critical part, you need to click to allow extensions by "Avid Technology Inc".

No matter how many times I uninstalled and reinstalled the Mbox Pro 1.3.5 driver I couldn't get the pop up to display and I couldn't see a way to manually add the extension exception.

This is how I fixed it.
1. Uninstall 1.3.5 driver
2. Install the incorrect Mbox (Not Pro) driver 1.2.13 but this time clicking 'Open Security Preferences' and adding the exception for extensions by "Avid Technology Inc".
3. Unistall 1.2.13
4. Install 1.3.5 driver again

The Mbox Pro now works!

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2018, 10:28 AM
CharlotteMichele CharlotteMichele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Mbox Pro 3 not recognized on Sierra

You are a GENIUS!!! Totally worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAC PRO High Sierra & PTHD 2018 can't recognized PCIe Native card Sutee Sangsareechon Pro Tools 2018 0 02-09-2018 11:49 AM
Mbox 2 Mini x Mac OS Sierra HELP alicealissa FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 4 11-29-2017 10:30 PM
Mbox 3 with High Sierra francois FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 2 10-11-2017 04:55 PM
Anyone got TDM cards be recognized by Mac OS Sierra ? tonwurm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-31-2017 10:09 AM
Mbox 3rd gen + MacOS Sierra Darkzeh FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 11 08-02-2017 05:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com