Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2018, 12:06 AM
annapretorius annapretorius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 13
Default Speaker hum when ProTools launches

Hi there

I am running Protools 12 with the Avid fast track duo and rokit 5 powered monitors.

As soon as I launch Protools, the speakers starts to give a high pitched hum. This remains constant and only goes away when I close ProTools.

I cannot hear the hum through the headphones.

Can anyone PLEASE help me? I am so annoyed!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2018, 05:42 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 815
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

Hmmmm.
Are the speakers and interface plugged into the same outlet?
Try plugging computer, interface and speakers to same plug.
See if that fixes it.
If not, ...
Are you using TRS cables to the speakers? (three conductor plugs)
It sounds like noise is being amplified by the speakers.

Can you plug in another piece of gear to the speakers to rule them out as well?
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2018, 08:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookerv12 View Post
Hmmmm.
Are the speakers and interface plugged into the same outlet?
Try plugging computer, interface and speakers to same plug.
See if that fixes it.
If not, ...
Are you using TRS cables to the speakers? (three conductor plugs)
It sounds like noise is being amplified by the speakers.

Can you plug in another piece of gear to the speakers to rule them out as well?
Could be a ground loop like you're suspecting. Another issue might be the power supply internal to the monitors is humming as it's probably a switcher supply and not the old-fashioned linear supply.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2018, 12:17 AM
annapretorius annapretorius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 13
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

Hi there

The speakers and computer are all plugged into the same multiplug.
The fast track sound card is powered through USB.
I am using TRS cables between the speakers and the interface.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2018, 01:03 AM
annapretorius annapretorius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 13
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

The hum starts as soon as anything starts that generates sound.

IE: Hum starts when launching ProTools
Hum starts when playing video on quicktime.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2018, 03:07 AM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 138
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

Is it like white noise? Kind of a hiss that is a background constant and goes up to minorly audible 30dB when you crank your speakers up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2018, 03:15 AM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 138
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

If yes... I've seen this with noisey power feeding yamaha powered monitors. The solution was power filters on the powercable that fed the monitors and balanced cables feeding the audio to them from the interface. Also test the grounding....One cheap test for grounding issues is trying 50 cent ground lifts on the speaker power cables.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2018, 03:46 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,136
Default Speaker hum when ProTools launches

I posted in the other thread but that seems to have disappeared. Perhaps a mod deleted it as it was a duplicate.

If it’s high pitched whine, it’s more than likely coming via the USB bus on your computer. It’s not uncommon unfortunately. Power filters and isolators are what you need to try.

I had it in the past on an iMac and the only thing that totally got rid of it was to lift the ground/earth on the iMac power. Its not recommended for obvious reasons, but I knew the risks and did it as a short term remedy as the USB interface was a stop gap whilst I was deciding on an interface upgrade as I prefer FW.

As mentioned above, lifting the earth on your monitors will achieve the same thing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Sardi; 03-11-2018 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2018, 04:36 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I posted in the other thread but that seems to have disappeared. Perhaps a mod deleted it as it was a duplicate.

If it’s high pitched whine, it’s more than likely coming via the USB bus on your computer. It’s not uncommon unfortunately. Power filters and isolators are what you need to try.

I had it in the past on an iMac and the only thing that totally got rid of it was to lift the ground/earth on the iMac power. Its not recommended for obvious reasons, but I knew the risks and did it as a sort term remedy as the USB interface was a short stop gap whilst I was deciding on an interface upgrade as I prefer FW.

As mentioned above, lifting the earth on your monitors will achieve the same thing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And I thought cheesegraters were the only ones that had the USB whine problem? As I remember reading about it it was mainly the USB ports on the front of the computer that had the noise and the others were okay. First I heard about iMacs having that issue.

One of the reasons the USB ports can have noise on them is due to the type of power supply used inside. They use a switch mode type of supply that's basically an oscillator running at a high frequency to regenerate the incoming AC mains. It's one way they can get around having one power supply in all their computers that can run anywheres in the world. All one has to do is to change the plug end that goes into the wall socket (or they give you different power cords).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2018, 07:00 AM
annapretorius annapretorius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 13
Default Re: Speaker hum when ProTools launches

I also tested it on a windows system. When I play anything through the fast track duo and the same monitors, there is no hum. Only happens on the mac.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Center Speaker Output playback on Left & Right speaker Ayem Ismail Pro Tools 11 2 01-08-2017 11:05 AM
Speaker Noise only when PT launches Mdubbs818 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 08-11-2013 04:29 AM
Aggregate I/O Built-in Speaker causing speaker to crack and pop andrewkeithly Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 01-27-2012 11:10 AM
ProTools launches slowly Nippamuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-07-2003 06:40 PM
mbox protools new session launches then crashes MoreMeintheMonitors 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-13-2003 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com