Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2017, 07:00 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

I am having problems with PT recognizing my focusrite clarett 8pre interface. I have PT vs 10.3.10. I have recently rebuilt my entire system. I have a new Dell with a Xeon E3-1535 processor 2.9GHz with 32 gigs of RAM running windows 10 64 bit. PT is only recognizing my audio card in the laptop and will not recognize the focusrite. I tried starting PT holding down the N key and that didn't work. My laptop has Thunderboldt 3 and I bought the dongle to convert down to thunderboldt 2 that is on my focusrite. Any help would be great as my computer genius son is back off to college.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2017, 07:39 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,775
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by djendeavour77 View Post
I am having problems with PT recognizing my focusrite clarett 8pre interface. I have PT vs 10.3.10. I have recently rebuilt my entire system. I have a new Dell with a Xeon E3-1535 processor 2.9GHz with 32 gigs of RAM running windows 10 64 bit. PT is only recognizing my audio card in the laptop and will not recognize the focusrite. I tried starting PT holding down the N key and that didn't work. My laptop has Thunderboldt 3 and I bought the dongle to convert down to thunderboldt 2 that is on my focusrite. Any help would be great as my computer genius son is back off to college.
Did you install the Focusrite driver??
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2017, 08:08 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Yes. I get this error message: The selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized. Please choose another audio device. It shows the focusrite as either a thunderboldt or USB interface I have tried both options and it still gives me the error message above.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2017, 11:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,809
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Hey Buddy

Look at this thread here as JC had the similar issues you have and the beta driver seem to have solved his problem with connection aswell as the TB3-TB2 you mention.

Link to thread here:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=395935

Link beta driver:
http://beta.focusrite.com/

Let us know how you get on. Best Wishes / Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2017, 07:09 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

I tried that as well and I'm still getting that ASIO error message. However, if I select the eleven rack and arm a mic on that channel I get a signal going through the focusrite clarett but i can only here it on my laptop speakers. PT apparently wants to only recognize my sound card in my laptop. Is there anyway to override this to see if it will then recognize my focusrite?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2017, 07:15 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,775
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

You have to go into the Control Panel and be sure the interface for Pro Tools you need is NOT selected as the default playback device. Then in Pro Tools under setup > Playback Engine, select the Focusrite.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2017, 09:25 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Thank you for your help and patience. I am still encountering that ASIO error. When I go into the device manager it is not showing my focusrite under the audio settings. I am getting a signal in the focusrite from a mic plugged into channel one: however, when I go into the setup in PT it shows my focusrite as an option but when I select it I get the ASIO error message PT will only arm a track if my sound card is selected. I did a complete uninstall of everything and reinstalled my focusrite drivers first then installed PT and no luck, exact same issues. What am I doing wrong. I have never had an issue using different interfaces before and was excited to use this new focusrite. It has got to be something simple. Anymore suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2017, 10:40 PM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 698
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by djendeavour77 View Post
I am having problems with PT recognizing my focusrite clarett 8pre interface. I have PT vs 10.3.10. . .
Quote:
Originally Posted by djendeavour77 View Post
. . . When I go into the device manager it is not showing my focusrite under the audio settings. . .
Do you have Pro Tools 11 or 12? According to Avid's "Operating System Compatibility Chart", you should be running Windows 7 SP1 if you want to use Pro Tools 10, it was 32 bit. PT 11 and 12 are 64 bit, but the first PT version to support Windows 10 was PT 12.5. Even if you can get the old PT 10 version to run, neither Avid or Focusrite support your laptop AFAIK so it is hard to predict your outcome. Not to mention the fact that Focusrite indicates in their "OS Compatibility Checker" for the Clarett 8Pre driver that "Windows 7 is not supported or tested, even though it may work."

But...assuming you know what you are doing...

Has the Focusrite "Control" application installed okay? I run a Focusrite 8 PreX on a Mac and the Focusrite "Control" software is a necessary component on a Mac. I do not have any PCs with Thunderbolt, but have a few PCs with ASIO drivers. Not sure how a correct Focusrite installation shows up in the Windows Control Panel, but you could try to disable the onboard audio device entirely (right-click in Control Panel) to see if that helps. You can always turn it back on. I have no problem switching between the Eleven Rack and the Focusrite 8 Pre-X, or even an Apogee Element 46, all are installed on the same MacBook Pro.

Windows definitely has trouble recognizing some audio interfaces. The error message regarding ASIO and your comment that Windows cannot figure out if the Focusrite is USB or Thunderbolt leads me to believe you have an unsupported rig. Either that or you have not installed the Focusrite 8Pre correctly or your other drivers are conflicting and causing the incompatibility.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon

Last edited by panamajack; 12-30-2017 at 06:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2017, 10:05 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,775
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

I am back in town. Give me your email or something through a PM and we can meet up sometime if you cant get it worked out.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2018, 11:49 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 2,285
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Hi friend apart from what steve ( guitardom ) can do.for you wich is a lot ( he is one of the best i know on this ) Le me know if you got it to work . I got mine working steve helped a lot . I got a asus mobo with Asus Ex3 and TB2 converter to TB3 . Everything working great better than ever . There is a learning curve with this setting up this device so be patient .
One of the most amazing thing is that because of the Asio driver from focusrite i can have The clarett as main card for everything at the same time without a single audio dropout . Its awesome , even bouncing and seeing youtube at the same time �� , Win 10 side of course ! No more audio driver kidnapping from PT for me .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - i7 CPU 4770k
Asus A97-AR mobo - 32gb DDR3 ram
Samsung 850 evo SSD 500gb - Radeon 470rx
Corsair 750w PSU
Lynx Aurora 8
Clarett Pre 8 X Thunderbolt - Protools Ultimate
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8 - Scarlett Dynamic 8pre
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite Clarett Windows Running Well :-) junkgear Third Party Interfaces 7 03-19-2018 07:23 AM
Focusrite Clarett 8PreX Pad Trent W. Third Party Interfaces 5 07-16-2017 10:22 AM
Focusrite Clarett 2Pre/Clarett Octopre w/PT11 shultzee13 Pro Tools 11 0 03-24-2017 08:08 PM
FS: Focusrite Clarett 8Pre $625 Shipped joepopp Buy & Sell 0 01-20-2017 06:45 PM
Focusrite Clarett 8 Pre X Cowboy Bob Third Party Interfaces 31 03-12-2016 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com