Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-08-2017, 03:20 AM
Audiofarm Audiofarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ʎɐʍɹou
Posts: 204
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

This put me off too. I uninstalled it right away. Impossible to judge the quality.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-08-2017, 05:43 AM
leftalive leftalive is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 443
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
For what it's worth, I demoed this last summer on another rig before it was available as a TC/E tool in PT, and this limitation was not a thing back then. Hence the reason why I thought it might have been a bug...
Dude... I sincerely thought I was doing it wrong (or something was buggy) when I was evaluating the demo, because the bits of silence occur so frequently that they just don't seem like they'd be, you know... on purpose.

It's like a salesman at the hardware store saying 'Here you go - try out this new hammer... but I need it back in two weeks, and just to make sure you actually buy the thing, I'm going to break the end off this one here, so it only kind of looks like a hammer.'

I'm generally pretty happy with the X-Form plugin and TC/E, but I'm always on the hunt for something better, so this was kind of a bummer.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6850K
MSI GTX 1080 Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 WD Black 1TB drives (for backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
Rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-09-2017, 11:17 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,839
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

This tce algo is so good! I have never heard better. The dialogue setting can stretch voice recording almost to 2x with minimal artifacting. A total game changer.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-09-2017, 12:15 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 450
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
This tce algo is so good! I have never heard better. The dialogue setting can stretch voice recording almost to 2x with minimal artifacting. A total game changer.
Agreed. Have you ever tried anything better? Some people tout Serato but I've never tried it. Pretty dang expensive.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2018.7, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-2017, 11:54 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,364
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

It's the same Algo that's in Logic's Flex Time, Reaper, Studio One and likely others they've licensed it to. That's why I was stoked to try it out and see how it worked with the TC/E tool...

If you guys that own it can confirm there's no weirdness with the plugin in Pro Tools, then I'm willing to gamble it. But, at $500 USD+, it will have to deliver...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-10-2017, 12:37 PM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 957
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
It's the same Algo that's in Logic's Flex Time, Reaper, Studio One and likely others they've licensed it to. That's why I was stoked to try it out and see how it worked with the TC/E tool...
About time Pro Tools licensed it too!

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-11-2017, 04:17 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 452
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
Agreed. Have you ever tried anything better? Some people tout Serato but I've never tried it. Pretty dang expensive.
Serato - 30 day unlimited demos (need iLok):

Pitch 'n Time Pro
https://serato.com/pitchntime-pro/downloads

Pitch 'n Time LE
https://serato.com/pitchntime-le/downloads
__________________
High Sierra 10.13.6
Pro Tools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-11-2017, 09:17 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,494
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
Agreed. Have you ever tried anything better? Some people tout Serato but I've never tried it. Pretty dang expensive.
I have the three big ones (serato, waves soundshifter, and elastique); fwiw, waves soundshifter sounds significantly better to me than serato on just about everything, to the point where I really don't use serato any more, and of course they ALL sound much better than Avid's TC/E. I have not had time to do significant comparisons between elastique and soundshifter, but my initial impression was that it was excellent. I'll post when I have some time to do meaningful comparisons.
__________________
rich@richbreen.com
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 12-11-2017 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-11-2017, 09:58 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 450
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
I have the three big ones (serato, waves soundshifter, and elastique); fwiw, waves soundshifter sounds significantly better to me than serato on just about everything, to the point where I really don't use serato any more, and of course they ALL sound much better than Avid's TC/E. I have not had time to do significant comparisons between elastique and soundshifter, but my initial impression was that it was excellent. I'll post when I have some time to do meaningful comparisons.
Hmm, Soundshifter, huh? I have it but don't think I've ever even opened it. I'll give it a go today. Interesting that you like Elastique much better than TC/E. My experience has been the opposite, though I use it almost exclusively on voiceovers. But glad to hear you're not that big on Serato. $800 is a lot to spend on something that isn't miraculous.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2018.7, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-11-2018, 12:49 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,364
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

So I took the plunge and bought this...and what a grand mistake that was. First off, for a plugin that costs over $600 and is included FREE in apps like Studio One, Reaper and Logic Pro X that cost well under that price, this is a joke.

2nd of all...it pales in comparison to Soundshifter with all of my drum edits. You can see how it garbles up the waveform, and sonically it's trash. Pure trash. I can see now why Zplane puts gaps in their demo version - it's to hide the fact that the algo is crap and suckers you into buying the app.

This may work better for things like bass, or vocals...but as of right now, I'm extreMELY disappointed. I bought from Sweetwater, and I may return this. What a scam.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAX - zPlane Elastique (for Pitch and Time) lowlights AAX Plug-ins 7 08-27-2017 07:31 AM
Question for Zplane Elastique users... Schottlandru Post - Surround - Video 5 12-22-2014 02:14 PM
Zplane Elastique Trent W. Buy & Sell 0 10-03-2014 01:52 PM
Elastique Pitch AAX released Peter Cole AAX Plug-ins 5 10-06-2013 01:40 PM
pro tools 9 and Zplane Vielklang harmony Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 0 01-05-2011 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com