Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2017, 01:08 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,337
Default Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Who's using it with the TC/E tool? Considered buying it, and just installed the demo...

Based on what I see here, is it even worth a wooden nickel? Either their code is messed up, or Pro Tools is causing the issue...would love to hear thoughts.

Sig
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-12-07 at 4.00.44 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	9491  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2017, 02:07 PM
RaToX RaToX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 47
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

IF THE PROBLEM ARE THOSE SILENCE SPACE i wonder if you are not worth a nickel

You installed the demo, is it? weren't you expecting demo limitations like inserted silence?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2017, 02:57 PM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 431
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

It's the demo limitation. I had the same problem.

It strikes me as ridiculous to use gaps of silence as a demo limitation in what is essentially an audiosuite plugin, as it ends up being near impossible to judge the quality of the processing.

It'd be one thing if the silence occurred every 15 seconds or so, but I was getting dropouts every couple of seconds (if not less), which is way too often.

First time in a while that a demo limitation made me pass on a plugin. I mean, it's time bombed anyway - what's the damn point of the silence?
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6850K
MSI GTX 1080 Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 WD Black 1TB drives (for backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2017, 03:30 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,337
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

What's the point of a demo if I can't even stretch a single quarter note of audio to test out how it sounds?

Seriously?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2017, 04:12 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,559
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
What's the point of a demo if I can't even stretch a single quarter note of audio to test out how it sounds?

Seriously?
to get you to buy the thing .. are you possibly trying to stretch too much audio .. it looks like a bit more than One Note in your pics but i could be wrong ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2017, 04:15 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,337
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Nah, it's literally a quarter note piece...just stretching the end of a cymbal hit to meet the next beat 1...I didn't think this was asking too much haha.

Like leftalive said above, it's already a timed demo, why put this limitation on it so we can't even truly judge how the time comp/exp even sounds? At least let me hear more than 1 second of audio before you put gaps in it sheesh...

Silly, if you ask me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2017, 04:20 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,559
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
Nah, it's literally a quarter note piece...just stretching the end of a cymbal hit to meet the next beat 1...I didn't think this was asking too much haha.

Like leftalive said above, it's already a timed demo, why put this limitation on it so we can't even truly judge how the time comp/exp even sounds? At least let me hear more than 1 second of audio before you put gaps in it sheesh...

Silly, if you ask me.
agreed, silly !!! timed out is one thing .. i guess some peeps are trygint o get work done with demo's ..haha

i prefer fully functional demos .. only way to rewally get to know a plugin or software feature ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2017, 04:22 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,337
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

My lord people still do that? I'd buy the thing in a second if I knew it actually worked better than the others that exist. For a $650 plugin, they ought to at least have a real demo that we can use...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2017, 06:28 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,337
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

For what it's worth, I demoed this last summer on another rig before it was available as a TC/E tool in PT, and this limitation was not a thing back then. Hence the reason why I thought it might have been a bug...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2017, 08:51 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 432
Default Re: Zplane Elastique AAX in 12.8.2HD

FWIW, I've used Elastique frequently for raw voiceover editing as it's built into Sound Forge (I have not compared the two for any music editing tasks). Like any timestretching algorithm, sometimes it works really well, other times not. But in general I've found Pro Tools' TC/E to be better overall, particularly with more extreme functions.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20 PC, 32GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro, Pro Tools HD 2018.4, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAX - zPlane Elastique (for Pitch and Time) lowlights AAX Plug-ins 7 08-27-2017 06:31 AM
Question for Zplane Elastique users... Schottlandru Post - Surround - Video 5 12-22-2014 01:14 PM
Zplane Elastique Trent W. Buy & Sell 0 10-03-2014 12:52 PM
Elastique Pitch AAX released Peter Cole AAX Plug-ins 5 10-06-2013 12:40 PM
pro tools 9 and Zplane Vielklang harmony Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 0 01-05-2011 11:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com