Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-07-2017, 07:19 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

The end of life dates only mean they will provide repairs to the interfaces, not necessarily driver updates. That said, there hasn't been an official announcement that there will be no new drivers for them (although it looks that way)

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-12-2017, 06:57 AM
apoikos apoikos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 3
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

You are right, that page scarily states that drivers updates might even end before the final SALE date!
I would think that service and technical support would also include drivers.

However, we all know how unprofessional Avid is, so no surprises here. Just another interface to throw in the garbage, probably.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-23-2017, 02:10 AM
gauthampait gauthampait is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bangalore, INDIA
Posts: 1
Default

Very unprofessional, been using M-Audio products, not gonna move to Avid after what I am seeing. Disappointed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:51 AM
donnysaengkio donnysaengkio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 2
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

I was able to find a temporary workaround solution when I stumbled across a post on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/Avid/posts/10155064309487525

1. Mount .dmg file - I used the one on the Avid driver page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...k-C400-Drivers

2. Launch the "M-Audio Fast Track C400 Uninstaller"

3. When the "Uninstallation has succeeded." dialogue box appears, click on "Quit".

4. Go into Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI Setup and your device should be listed.

5. You may have to unplug and plug your interface back in to get it working again.

I've confirmed when returning the machine from sleep the interface still works.

From this point on, DO NOT restart your machine. If you do the driver is uninstalled and then you'll have to do the install/ uninstall process in order to get it working again.

Hopes this works for everyone else while we wait for an update.

Last edited by donnysaengkio; 12-29-2017 at 02:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2017, 11:48 AM
fabiohribeirosilva fabiohribeirosilva is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Curitiba/Brazil
Posts: 2
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

this works for me. while we wait for an update it’s a good solution.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-12-2018, 06:58 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,520
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

High Sierra seems to handle drivers differently than prior operating systems. Deleting the M-AudioFastTrackC400.kext from System > Library > Extensions (leaving it in Library > Extensions) should eliminate the crash and allow the C400 to be selected in AMS or Sound. If you are able to try this please reply with your results.

There's also the issue of the driver not loading (you'll see it in System Information > USB but not in AMS or Sound), so make sure you allow that in System Preferences > Security & Privacy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 5.29.23 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	9746   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 5.29.48 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	9747  
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-13-2018, 07:13 PM
fabiohribeirosilva fabiohribeirosilva is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Curitiba/Brazil
Posts: 2
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

It really works! this solution (Deleting the M-AudioFastTrackC400.kext from System > Library > Extensions (leaving it in Library > Extensions) should eliminate the crash and allow the C400 to be selected in AMS or Sound.) worked even better. after reboot the driver continues to work. Thank you Jeffro!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-14-2018, 10:30 AM
Allan23 Allan23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

Did you do this procedure before or after upgrading to High Sierra?

Anyone else have success with this?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-15-2018, 09:35 PM
felixpostpro felixpostpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 1
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

I worked perfectly Jeffro solution, thank you very much! I mention my step by step: 1.- Download and install the most current driver for the Fast Track C400 (http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...k-C400-Drivers). 2.- At the end of the installation DO NOT RESTART. 3.- Apply Jeffro's solution (Deleting the M-AudioFastTrackC400.kext from System> Library> Extensions (leaving it in Library> Extensions) should eliminate the crash and allow the C400 to be selected in AMS or Sound 4.- Double Check that effectively delete the above mentioned file and leave the one I should leave 5.- I went to System Preferences and saw that the Driver was already installed 6.- Restart the computer 7.- When fully loading the operating system, connect the Fast Track C400 and everything worked perfectly.

My iMac came with the High Sierra already installed and it is impossible to do the Downgrade for what I was looking for a quick solution for this Driver, because the first time I installed it in this OS, the OS collapsed and did not allow the computer to boot. I had to reinstall the OS again.

I hope it works for everyone and that very soon AVID will update the Driver for macOS High Sierra 10.13. I hope so. And again, thank you very much Jeffro.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-16-2018, 02:59 PM
Allan23 Allan23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: FastTrack C400 on High Sierra?

Yes, this solution works.

Thank you Jeffro! Thanks also to felixpostpro@gmail.com for confirming and re-outlining the procedure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6L AVB with OS X High Sierra brinnbacka VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 08-24-2017 02:59 AM
11R driver 1.2.12 working with High Sierra panamajack Eleven Rack 0 08-05-2017 06:02 PM
Fast Track C400 weird on Sierra mad_griffith FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 7 07-11-2017 04:59 AM
next driver update for Fast Track C400, Mac OS 10.12 Sierra Quecox666 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 10-24-2016 08:15 AM
FastTrack c400 - Input noise with notebook and AC Power ClaudioCas Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-14-2013 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com