Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2017, 06:58 PM
Mike Landolt Mike Landolt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 38
Default Dock fader sucks!

I've owned a Control 24 and just sold my D-Command ES. I just picked up the Dock...this fader feels really rough. It's stiff and mechanically really loud. Is this normal or is it just mine? I was planning to add an S3 as well. Is the S3 fader is the same as the Dock? Does anyone feel the same?

Last edited by Mike Landolt; 02-13-2017 at 11:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2017, 06:12 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

S3 faders feel is fine imo, i.e. much smoother and more silent than D-command. Unfortunately, resolution is far less (not sure if that`s a hardware/software) thing:
above -10dB : 0.1dB
below -10dB :
- steps of .3 - .4 dB in protools
- steps of 1dB on S3 displays
(.1 dB on D-command, still .2 dB until -40 dB)

however, if you're planning on using your console intensively for automation, the S3 is a no-go as you can see in plenty of other threads in the S3 section.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2017, 06:14 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

might be of interest to you as well: knobs on S3 are a disaster: very jumpy, terrible ballistics and no fine control.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365004
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2017, 07:52 AM
Mike Landolt Mike Landolt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 38
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

Are you currently using an S3 and a Dock? Reading through the thread people mention a sensitively issue with panning...has this been fixed? One thing the eq "Q" like in Waves SSL and Avid eq's are not populating on the Dock controllers. But the Native Instrumentals solid eq does work.
Best
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2017, 08:49 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

no, it has not been fixed and it does`t look it will be anything soon (see link above)

What Avid eq are you talking about? all stock stuff seems to populate fine afaik, but I might have missed one or two.
I haven`t seen plug-ins not populating (although some do not populate all parameters).
I also noticed quite some Wave plugins are not controllable from the s3. Although they populate right, the scaling of the knobs is completely off with various Waves plug-ins.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2017, 07:18 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
the scaling of the knobs is completely off with various Waves plug-ins.
That's a whooooooole other issue... =)

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=381425
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2017, 08:20 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 108
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony_Anz View Post
That's a whooooooole other issue... =)

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=381425
That one's terrible indeed, however that`s not what I meant.
I was talking about plug-ins where you just barely touch a knob and the parameter jumps all the way to the other end. As if the scaling is about 100 times too sensitive.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2017, 11:26 AM
Mike Landolt Mike Landolt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 38
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

Yeah, I know what you mean about the sensitivity of the controllers...after spending all day with the dock I do like the features plus the intuitive nature of the Control App and I'm getting used to the more robust fader. 3 1/2 years ago I owned 2 Mixes and a Control. The Eucon software was really inconsistent so I sold them and bought a D-Command ES. Now full circle Eucon is better just need to dive into the software. It is crazy though the Avid eq 7 band does not populate with "Q" point on the controllers...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2017, 12:07 PM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Landolt View Post
It is crazy though the Avid eq 7 band does not populate with "Q" point on the controllers...
I thought you could press the SEL button (on the PT Control App) next to any of the frequencies that have a "Q" in order to see the Q param...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image001.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	8034  
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2017, 09:40 PM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 584
Default Re: Dock fader sucks!

The Q control is a little hidden. It took me a few days to find it. I guess it's in the second layer because it wouldn't match with the eight available controls per layer. Four bands can have frequency and gain control. If every band would over three parameters there would be two bands with full parameter set and two more controls available.
__________________
Mac Pro Harpertown 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad Core, HD3 Accel (PCIe), 192 I/O, Sync I/O, Euphonix MC Control, Artist Mix and Pro Tools 10
iMac 2013, HD Native, HD Omni, Pro Tools 12 HD, Avid Dock with Avid Pro Tools Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fader off on Dock?? KPereira Pro Tools | Dock 1 02-13-2017 12:22 PM
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Pro Tools | Dock 0 10-01-2016 08:20 AM
WUP sucks!! c.evans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 26 12-23-2010 12:13 AM
Anyone else think PT7 sucks?? thegiantgeordie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 03-26-2006 08:19 AM
man this sucks keny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-24-2003 06:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com