Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2015, 08:48 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Why was I charged more for upgrade ?

Grabbed the $199 till end of December update from P10 to 12

copied from my original post ;
Quote:
When I was just about to confirm the purchase, it bumped me back to say the price has changed !
There were no explanation , nor reasoning added. Just is $235 now.
Is it :
1) did they raise the advertised price ( $199 ) ?
2) or they automatically applied a currency exchange to $CA ?
that is unlikely, it would have been more.
3) There is a price difference for a Canadian customer ?
And..tax on top of that.

Did someone from Canada purchase this same offer ?
Would like to know ...
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2015, 09:17 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,809
Default Re: Why was I charged more for upgrade ?

I believe it's a 15% tax added for Canadian Purchases so that figure would make sense if this is true regarding the 15%. Thats steep IMHO of course!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2015, 09:29 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Why was I charged more for upgrade ?

So..it is 15% tax added by Avid ?
I was also added another another $ 30.55 on top, which actually equals to our local ( Ontario ) HST tax of 13 %.

And now...I guess when I'll get my VISA bill the whole $ 265 that will amount to $ 1,000 Canadian $

great to know, thanx
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2015, 09:34 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,809
Default Re: Why was I charged more for upgrade ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemix View Post
So..it is 15% tax added by Avid ?
I was also added another another $ 30.55 on top, which actually equals to our local ( Ontario ) HST tax of 13 %.

And now...I guess when I'll get my VISA bill the whole $ 265 that will amount to $ 1,000 Canadian $

great to know, thanx
Hehe Yeah it is quite an add-on but as I said, I read this here so may wanna doublecheck that to be 100% in the "know"

When we buy from other countries we also get a "nice" additional fee added to the purchase price so I guess everything is catching up now with the digital purchases we have been excluded from in the past
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Account Double Charged? grayter1 Pro Tools 12 4 10-11-2015 08:10 AM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 11:22 AM
Clarification of New Turbo Charged Hardware Exchange jonlimhy General Discussion 2 02-25-2009 09:18 PM
Did I get charged too much??? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-08-2006 01:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com